Mexican Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I was bored by the idea of beating the frosting and just poured it straight from the pan. I also only used one cup of sugar for the batter - and it turned out pretty much spectacular. It wasn't as soft as I expected - really moist, but still firm enough to not to fall into wet crumbs. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Oh my goodness, this cake is to die for! I only put 1 cup of sugar in the cake and used regular milk in the sauce, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. My whole family loved this cake. Beware, it's addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PureGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This was delicious, but very rich. I cut the sugar in the cake down by one cup and it was perfectly sweet. Don't make the mistake of undercooking the cake at all, as I did, or you will end up with a cake soup in the center. If you like moist cakes, such as Tres Leches, you will love this. Overall, it is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This cake is excellent! I made it the first time for a small gathering and it went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Not at all what I was expecting. The cake was drenched in the milk sauce and was more like bread pudding - but extraordinarily sweet. I will not make again....sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Oh my, what a winner! This is simple and really good, the best combination for a recipe! Excellent choice for novice bakers. I used walnuts and put them in the cake batter, along with some coconut. I added even more coconut to the sauce (you can't really call it frosting), as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This was a big hit. Very moist. Yummy warm, but I did have it out of the pan for breakfast the nest 3 days...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Good cake Glenda. I was actually planning on making Mexican Wedding Cookies when I came across this recipe. My frosting never thickened up even after beating it for a while after it was cooked...but it still tasted good. This went well with a cup of Dunkin Doughnuts coffee. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This was just great, I made 2 cakes, one to pour the frosting over it, and the other one plain (since I don't drink milk). This was just wonderful. My husband had 2 pieces in one seating. he took a piece to work, everyone there loved it. I brought a piece to work and everyone enjoyed it. It is very easy to make and the cake is very moist. Excellent choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I use a variation of this recipe and it is fabulous! I add all the listed ingredients together including the coconut and nuts, minus the milk. Bake for 40 minutes until carmelized/browning on top. Cool. Mix 2 cups powdered sugar with one 8oz package of cream cheese and frost. It's a huge family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States