Mexican Venison Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Recipe was good. I added cumin, white pepper, black pepper and green chiles to the recipe. I also added a tablespoon of sour cream to each serving and it turned out amazing. Thanks for the recipe. It went over with the wife, kids and even those picky in-laws
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
As is it is a little bland but still has a lot of potential. I added the Taco Seasoning I recipe from this website and it was delicious!! Thank you so much for giving a good venison recipe. It's kinda like goulash, a little bit of everything and you can't taste the venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baslhicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
As far as the recipe states, I give a 4. But, it easily turned to a 5 with some extra spices. After cooking and right before the corn, I noticed it was a little bland. As some of the others did, I added some cumin and chili powder. This really helped, plus I added a 2nd can of tomatoes, but this time I added a can of Rotel. (for the spice, extra tomato and extra liquid)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I made this for DH and DS, so this review is based on their opinions as I did not try it. Thought it was good, but could tell that I used a ‘boxed Spanish rice mix’ rather than making homemade rice. It was better the second day when the flavors had time to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
We like to eat this on tortillas. I substituted black beans for the kidney beans and add additional taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gifford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcgarvey87
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This was an excellent and easily made recipe! Would definitely make again! I subsituted mexicorn and also added some cumin and chili powder to the meat while it browned. Continued as directed and it is a lot of food - perfect for lunches all week for myself and my husband! Thank you!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this last night with some ground venison we had lying around and it turned out delicious! It makes a wonderfully simple dinner for those "bottom of the freezer can't make it to the store" nights lol. My only addition was to serve the portions in "cups" of fresh iceburg lettuce, with a little sour cream & salsa on top. The cold lettuce gives it this wonderfully refreshing crunch when paired with the hot meaty rice mixture. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
My husband and I both LOVED this recipe! I didn't change the recipe at all. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Utica, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
The whole family enjoyed this dish! I used white rice and rotell and it was still good! I didn't really taste the deer, which is always a good thing! Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
My husband said this was quite tasty. He wasn't initially aware that I added ground venison. I didn't make any changes or additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States