Mexican Venison Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
My husband and I really liked this. I used cumin in my meat while it cooked. I added a heaping tsp of chilli powder and Spanish paprika. I also used black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is great for a base recipe. I used Ro Tel tomatoes with peppers and beef broth in place of plain water. I also added a few generous shakes of chili powder. It ended up being a lot more flavorful than I think it would have otherwise been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was an excellent recipe. I did have to improvise some because my cupboard was bare! I used black beans, diced tomatoes with green chilies (yum) and creamed corn. Otherwise, I prepared as directed. I would say it serves a lot more than 6, though; more like 8 to 10. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I have an abundance of venison sausage - i used one link, with casing removed, and altered the spices slightly so it wouldn't be too salty or spicy. It was hearty, filling, and didn't break my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I followed the recipe to the tee, excited to have found a new recipe to try with our annual freezer filled with venison, but when my husband took his first bite he kindly replied, "This hardly has any taste. I mean it is okay to eat, but it is really bland. Have you tasted it yet?" I was shocked as all the previous reviews said it was an excellent recipe. I took a taste and completely agreed with him. With all the ingredients in it I was amazed at the lack of taste. I used Zataran Spanish rice mix, which I feared may be too spicy, and deli style salsa not jarred. I don't know if that had anything to do with the final results. I saved the dish by adding a lot of chili powder, a good dusting of Goya seasoning and some cumin. I also mixed in a few slices American cheese till it was melted through. I hate giving a recipe such a low rating, but I cannot rate it high if the flavor is flat and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My family loved it. Th kids inhaled it. Seconds for everyone. Will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherokee, Texas, USA
Living In: Llano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this last night with some ground venison we had lying around and it turned out delicious! It makes a wonderfully simple dinner for those "bottom of the freezer can't make it to the store" nights lol. My only addition was to serve the portions in "cups" of fresh iceburg lettuce, with a little sour cream & salsa on top. The cold lettuce gives it this wonderfully refreshing crunch when paired with the hot meaty rice mixture. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
My husband said this was quite tasty. He wasn't initially aware that I added ground venison. I didn't make any changes or additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Very good use of ground venison. I also used can of Rotel as well as stewed tomatoes. Added paprika for color, cummin, a dash of cayenne for heat. Beef boullon for richness. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was good. I used a box of Rice-A-Roni spanish rice and a can of diced tomatoes with chilis. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States