Mexican Venison Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
My husband and I really liked this. I used cumin in my meat while it cooked. I added a heaping tsp of chilli powder and Spanish paprika. I also used black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I read the reviews saying it was bland, but since I was feeding a 3 and 1 year old, I left it as was. I thought it was fine. I'm always looking for a way to hide the taste of venison, since I don't like the gamey taste, and this worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is great for a base recipe. I used Ro Tel tomatoes with peppers and beef broth in place of plain water. I also added a few generous shakes of chili powder. It ended up being a lot more flavorful than I think it would have otherwise been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
My husband seemed to like it. I thought it was bit to plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was good. I used a box of Rice-A-Roni spanish rice and a can of diced tomatoes with chilis. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
It was ok I will add more spice next time but it went over well with the family just a little bland for our taste. Other than that a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I followed the recipe to the tee, excited to have found a new recipe to try with our annual freezer filled with venison, but when my husband took his first bite he kindly replied, "This hardly has any taste. I mean it is okay to eat, but it is really bland. Have you tasted it yet?" I was shocked as all the previous reviews said it was an excellent recipe. I took a taste and completely agreed with him. With all the ingredients in it I was amazed at the lack of taste. I used Zataran Spanish rice mix, which I feared may be too spicy, and deli style salsa not jarred. I don't know if that had anything to do with the final results. I saved the dish by adding a lot of chili powder, a good dusting of Goya seasoning and some cumin. I also mixed in a few slices American cheese till it was melted through. I hate giving a recipe such a low rating, but I cannot rate it high if the flavor is flat and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This recipe was really good! Even people who don't like venison will like this recipe. I made it for my parents and my sister, and they loved it. Very satisfying, and I will use ground beef with this recipe since I don't have any more venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was a nice skillet dish to make after work for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My family loved it. Th kids inhaled it. Seconds for everyone. Will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherokee, Texas, USA
Living In: Llano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States