Mexican Venison Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I read the reviews saying it was bland, but since I was feeding a 3 and 1 year old, I left it as was. I thought it was fine. I'm always looking for a way to hide the taste of venison, since I don't like the gamey taste, and this worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is great for a base recipe. I used Ro Tel tomatoes with peppers and beef broth in place of plain water. I also added a few generous shakes of chili powder. It ended up being a lot more flavorful than I think it would have otherwise been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
My husband seemed to like it. I thought it was bit to plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was good. I used a box of Rice-A-Roni spanish rice and a can of diced tomatoes with chilis. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
It was ok I will add more spice next time but it went over well with the family just a little bland for our taste. Other than that a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I followed the recipe to the tee, excited to have found a new recipe to try with our annual freezer filled with venison, but when my husband took his first bite he kindly replied, "This hardly has any taste. I mean it is okay to eat, but it is really bland. Have you tasted it yet?" I was shocked as all the previous reviews said it was an excellent recipe. I took a taste and completely agreed with him. With all the ingredients in it I was amazed at the lack of taste. I used Zataran Spanish rice mix, which I feared may be too spicy, and deli style salsa not jarred. I don't know if that had anything to do with the final results. I saved the dish by adding a lot of chili powder, a good dusting of Goya seasoning and some cumin. I also mixed in a few slices American cheese till it was melted through. I hate giving a recipe such a low rating, but I cannot rate it high if the flavor is flat and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This recipe was really good! Even people who don't like venison will like this recipe. I made it for my parents and my sister, and they loved it. Very satisfying, and I will use ground beef with this recipe since I don't have any more venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was a nice skillet dish to make after work for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My family loved it. Th kids inhaled it. Seconds for everyone. Will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherokee, Texas, USA
Living In: Llano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe, I substituted the kidney beans for black beans, I also added a teaspoon of cumin and and a little garlic. Came out absolutley fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States