Mexican Vegetable Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I've been looking for an authentic tasting recipe for Mexican rice for YEARS! This is it!! It comes out fluffy, tasty and extra nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
I made this rice without the frozen vegetables and I added some more tomatoes. I served it with Mexican Chicken Kiev, Mexican Corn (submitted by Karen Baldridge) and some sauteed peppers . . . My guests loved the entire meal. The leftover rice was great with eggs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This has become one of my fast weeknight recipes. My husband loves it! I often substitute canned diced tomatoes and sometimes forget the green onions and it is still great. I usually serve it with diced fresh mexican cheese and tortillas and turn it into a taco/burrito of sorts. Great to add cooked chicken or beans as well. Don't skimp on the cayenne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This is a very good rice recipe. I did make the following adjustments. I used Garlic Powder instead of the Cayenne Pepper, I used canned stewed tomatoes (drain the liquid into a measuring cup and add stock to the required mark for the recipe. I also used cilantro instead of the parsley. This is a great side dish. My new favorite mexican rice..thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My husband really liked this. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable and I used fresh sliced carrots (par-cooked) and frozen peas. It went very well with the Southwestern stuffed chicken brests and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I made a few revisions that didn't quite work so well. I omitted the tomatoes and substituted corn for carrots because I had neither tomatoes nor carrots. It turned out okay but I think the tomato would have increased the flavor. Regular frozen corn did not seem to fit well with this recipe (although I think grilled corn would have worked) Great overall flavor with the rest of the ingredients thus the high rating. I plan to make it again with the suggested ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is the best rice dish I've ever had. The cayenne pepper adds a kick, but not too spicy. I made the 3 serving version using instant white rice. I used 1 cup of instant white rice and 1 cup of vegetable stock. I did not saute the rice beforehand. All else I did the same. I served with Delicious Black Bean Burritos off allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Loved this and so did my guest. Rice seemed a little over cooked, but I'll tweak that next time and should be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Excellent rice recipe. I used a tablespoon of paprika with and red pepper flakes instead of cayenne pepper; also I used the suggestion to omit vegetables and double the tomato and the garlic. I will put a little something extra in next time - like garlic powder and maybe chilie powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I served this alongside the " slow cooker guisade verde" recipe from this site for my Cinco de Mayo party. Every one enjoyed it. I used canned diced tomatoes and cilantro instead of parsley. Next time I make it I will experiment with other veg and spices. Can't mess this one up. Thanks Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States