Mexican Vegetable Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I've been looking for an authentic tasting recipe for Mexican rice for YEARS! This is it!! It comes out fluffy, tasty and extra nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
I made this rice without the frozen vegetables and I added some more tomatoes. I served it with Mexican Chicken Kiev, Mexican Corn (submitted by Karen Baldridge) and some sauteed peppers . . . My guests loved the entire meal. The leftover rice was great with eggs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This has become one of my fast weeknight recipes. My husband loves it! I often substitute canned diced tomatoes and sometimes forget the green onions and it is still great. I usually serve it with diced fresh mexican cheese and tortillas and turn it into a taco/burrito of sorts. Great to add cooked chicken or beans as well. Don't skimp on the cayenne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This is a very good rice recipe. I did make the following adjustments. I used Garlic Powder instead of the Cayenne Pepper, I used canned stewed tomatoes (drain the liquid into a measuring cup and add stock to the required mark for the recipe. I also used cilantro instead of the parsley. This is a great side dish. My new favorite mexican rice..thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My husband really liked this. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable and I used fresh sliced carrots (par-cooked) and frozen peas. It went very well with the Southwestern stuffed chicken brests and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I made a few revisions that didn't quite work so well. I omitted the tomatoes and substituted corn for carrots because I had neither tomatoes nor carrots. It turned out okay but I think the tomato would have increased the flavor. Regular frozen corn did not seem to fit well with this recipe (although I think grilled corn would have worked) Great overall flavor with the rest of the ingredients thus the high rating. I plan to make it again with the suggested ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is the best rice dish I've ever had. The cayenne pepper adds a kick, but not too spicy. I made the 3 serving version using instant white rice. I used 1 cup of instant white rice and 1 cup of vegetable stock. I did not saute the rice beforehand. All else I did the same. I served with Delicious Black Bean Burritos off allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Loved this and so did my guest. Rice seemed a little over cooked, but I'll tweak that next time and should be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Quick and easy to make and super delicious. The flavor is similar to a dish I get at our favorite Mexican place. I have been trying and trying to make it here at home. This is the closest I've gotten. I have been playing around with it ever since. The last time I made it, I did 2 1/2 cups of chicken stock to the rice and 1/2 cup jalapeno juice. Threw in an extra dash of the cayenne pepper and added 1/4 tsp onion powder. Next time I plan to melt in some Mexican cheeses. We'll see how that goes. Overall, this recipe is very tasty as is without any modifications, but also a great dish to get creative with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I tweaked it. Cut the cayenne in half, added 1tbls cumin, and sautéed diced yellow, red, and orange peppers. Did not add the mixed peas/carrots. Strained 1 16oz can of diced tomatoes. 2 cups black beans. Topped with a scoop of Greek yogurt and avocado. Delicious!! 5 stars now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States