Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
No flavor, just HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I make this often pretty much the same way for people who like beef you can use a roast instead and also if its to spicy use the adobo sauce without the chipotle same taste not so spicy also put lettuce and cheese on top either queso fresco or Mexican Parmesan which is called cotijà
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Chicken tinga is one of my favorites and this is a great recipe! I added a couple of garlic cloves and some sea salt which helped cut the acid from the tomato and the dish was superb. Aside from topping this on a tostada this is also a great filling for tacos and tamales. One of my favorite Mexican joints in LA rolls this up in a burrito and it's insane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSHEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
That's a lot of chipotle! I only added the adobo sauce and it was still too spicy. Next time I'm going to add a little bit at a time until it's just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Pretty good, family liked it. Husband approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sofianvrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
thank you so much, fredda. I have never heard of tinga, let alone tasted it. I read the recipe and decided it was something my family would love, and I was right. I did change it up a bit by cooking it in a croc pot, adding juice of a lime, abt 2t of cumin, and a small bunch of chopped cilantro. this was soooooooooooooooo delicious and easy, I can't thank you enough. used tostada shells, then placed a bit of shredded lettuce on the bottom, then some chopped roma tomatoes, the tinga, and topped with some Mexican crema, a spoonful of guacamole, a spoonful of salsa, and some chopped green onions. hot sauce available for those who wanted it. soooooo good. thank you so very much for sharing this family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Nope. Won't be trying this recipe again. not one person of five in my family cared for it and we like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
A friend gave me her tinga recipe years ago and is almost identical to Fredda's. It is now an oft-requested menu item around our home. If short on time, an already baked rotisserie chicken is super easy to shred. Our preference in preparing the chicken breasts is to poach them until almost done and then shred into the sauce mixture for a final simmer of flavors. Thankfully, we were advised early on about the power of chipotle peppers in the adobe sauce. After making tinga numerous times, we've slowly increased the chipotle pepper to sauce ratio. I tend to make more sauce than the recipe calls for my simply adding another can of stewed tomatoes. IF EVER TOO HOT - Add honey. I now keep my honey jar right at hand when making this treat. You have to taste test it, right? And if too hot, immediately dab honey on your tongue. Then add honey, little bit at a time, to the tinga mixture. Those mild mannered tongues in your family will thank you! Honey is a better treatment for "heat on the tongue" than milk or bread, in our opinion. Thank you for this recipe treat! Oh - if anyone in your family thinks they "hate" onions, try pureeing one and then cooking the pureed onion in a bit of olive oil with nutmeg (yes - nutmeg!). This will temper the oniony taste and, chances are, they'll never even notice that you've added it to the sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
We love, love, love this recipe for leftover chicken! This is easy and delicious. We like the heat, so it works for us. If you don't like it spicy, you might not want to use much adobo sauce,and don't use any of the peppers, before tasting it. Do what your diners like as far as heat goes. Great recipe! Thanks Fredda :) Got any more family favorites for us?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I could look at this and read reviews and see where things could go wrong. I used about 1/2 Tbls of the chipotles and I am used to very spicy food and that was just the right amount. I also added a 1/4tsp of cinnamon as one reviewer stated and salt and pepper. I also hit it with 1/2 tbls of my own mexican seasoning which I think I used Emerils recipe on FN. After those changes, it was great! This made 6 tingas, not 16. 4oz of chicken per tinga and one ounce of sour cream per. The picture is not a good representation of the actual recipe either but it does give you the general idea and something to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States