Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a great recipe, but where I am from we add margarine to the oil. Trust me it gives it a great taste. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I really liked this recipe, I have always wanted to try chipotle peppers. very good I have made this two times already;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yolieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Loved this! I only used three chipotle peppers (about 1/3 of a 7 ounce can) and it was plenty spicy. The submitter suggests added them to taste and I agree, I don't think many people could tolerate the heat if you added the entire can. I topped mine with sour cream, Cotija cheese, and avocado. Thanks for sharing this fantastic dish, I'll be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Loved this recipe (as did my entire family). I used half the required chipotle peppers and it was a little spicy but the chipotle flavor was amazing. Goes great with a Corn & Black Bean salad. Two of those having it have already asked for the recipe. Of course, the easiest thing is simply emailing them the allrecipes.com link. :) LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I'm Mexican and I have cooked Mexican food since I was 12! I love cooking Mexicand and I hav also studied the evolution of Mexican food. This recipe does not need any cinnamon as another person wrote; the recipe is quite authentic. The chipotle part it has to be added little by little until you find what is suitable for your taste buds. When I make this at home I only use one chipotle pepper and one teaspoon of the adobo sauce. Don't rush to use the whole chipotle can, it is easier to add more than to take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sra Carranza

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was very good, and my husband loved it, which always makes me happy. Because I am a wimp, I only used about 3/4 of a chipotle pepper, and it was delicious. The best suggestion I took, though, was to simmer a cinnamon stick along with the mixture--added a very subtle but amazing depth of flavor that made the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javadrinker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
We loved this! Super tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pookyspooky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flovilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jackson, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I gave this 5 stars because I made as directed and my hubby and i thought it was delicious. It's like Mexican BBQ sauce or something, sweet, smoky and spicey. Warning though!!! It's crazy hot! I had to mix sour cream in it along with putting some on top! It was honestly a little to hot for me but I gave it 5 stars because the flavor was delicious and the hotness factor is personal preference. I will DEFINTELY make it again, but not for the kids!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI DIANA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
made twice. Very good, but very hot if you use all the peppers!! I normally put this in a crockpot and let it cook all day and then shredd the chicken. I freeze it in single serving containers and take it to work along with all the taco fixings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SWILSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Very good. I stuck the chicken into a crockpot and the peppers, and added an extra can of stewed tomatoes, and then the sauteed onions in it. And I cooked it on high for around 5 hours and it was delicious. Except there were WAY too many peppers in it for my liking, but I brought it into my Spanish class for a fiesta, and my professor LOVED it. As did everyone else in the class that enjoys spicy food. My professor said it was just like back home, and absolutely delicious. So maybe next time I'll only put in like one or two of the peppers and see how it goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States