Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is very good! It is very easy to make and will definitely be a keeper! I use chipotle peppers all the time and always keep them on hand because they give wonderful flavor. I used three peppers from the can and about 2 tbs of adobo sauce. It's not too spicy, I would add more but have to please the whole family. I also added cilantro and a little chicken broth. We used it for taco filling and everyone loved it with a little drizzle of lemon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnahinu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
OMG!!! This was SOOOOO yummy! I am headed back to work tomorrow after a long (actually, too short) holiday break. I'm looking at piles of laundry and tons of dirty dishes right now (ugh!) and knowing myself, there's nooo way I'll be spending much time preparing dinner because of it. Freda's tinga met my needs exactly - it's cheap, easy / quick to prepare and delicious! I've actually had this recipe in my in-box for quite some time, but it wasn't until my recent trip to Cancun that made me anxious to try it. The resort my hubby and I stayed at had tinga on their buffet. I gave it a try and LOVED it! Fredda's recipe was just as good, if not better. :) The addition of cinnamon (I added a cinnamon stick, broken in half) made this ever so slightly sweet, but in a good way. My only other changes were subbing a shredded rotisserie chicken for chicken breasts and adding a couple "glugs" of chicken broth halfway thru the simmering step. NOTE: I found 2 chipotle peppers / 2 t sauce to be spot on. Served on tostada shells with Boston Bibb lettuce leaves, shredded cheddar cheese, fresh pico de gallo, salsa verde and a dollop of crema (the BEST!) and Mexican rice / pinto beans on the side, this was a SUPERB and eye-appealing meal (the green lettuce, tinga mixture and bright pico looked lovely, almost Christmas-like!). Authentic Jarito's sodas were a perfect accompainment. My hubby commented that I should make this again - SOON! Thanks for sharing, Fredda O! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was really good and easy. Because I wanted to cook it in the crockpot, I just threw whole chicken breast halves in the crockpot and covered with the onion/tomato mixture. I sauteed the onions first and blended in the tomato/chipotle mixture. After several hours, I took the chicken breasts out and shredded them. Then I put the shredded chicken back in to cook for awhile and soak up the liquid. This was my first time using tosdadas and we really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
i used canned tomato sauce instead of stewed tomatoes because that's what i had on hand. when i made this i only used about two of the chipotle peppers, i can't imagine how spicy a whole can would be! really easy recipe and tastes great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a great recipe, but where I am from we add margarine to the oil. Trust me it gives it a great taste. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I really liked this recipe, I have always wanted to try chipotle peppers. very good I have made this two times already;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yolieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Loved this! I only used three chipotle peppers (about 1/3 of a 7 ounce can) and it was plenty spicy. The submitter suggests added them to taste and I agree, I don't think many people could tolerate the heat if you added the entire can. I topped mine with sour cream, Cotija cheese, and avocado. Thanks for sharing this fantastic dish, I'll be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Loved this recipe (as did my entire family). I used half the required chipotle peppers and it was a little spicy but the chipotle flavor was amazing. Goes great with a Corn & Black Bean salad. Two of those having it have already asked for the recipe. Of course, the easiest thing is simply emailing them the allrecipes.com link. :) LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I'm Mexican and I have cooked Mexican food since I was 12! I love cooking Mexicand and I hav also studied the evolution of Mexican food. This recipe does not need any cinnamon as another person wrote; the recipe is quite authentic. The chipotle part it has to be added little by little until you find what is suitable for your taste buds. When I make this at home I only use one chipotle pepper and one teaspoon of the adobo sauce. Don't rush to use the whole chipotle can, it is easier to add more than to take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sra Carranza

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was very good, and my husband loved it, which always makes me happy. Because I am a wimp, I only used about 3/4 of a chipotle pepper, and it was delicious. The best suggestion I took, though, was to simmer a cinnamon stick along with the mixture--added a very subtle but amazing depth of flavor that made the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javadrinker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States