Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I'm Mexican and I have cooked Mexican food since I was 12! I love cooking Mexicand and I hav also studied the evolution of Mexican food. This recipe does not need any cinnamon as another person wrote (are you kidding me?) The recipe is quite authentic. The chipotle part it has to be added little by little until you find what is suitable for your taste buds. When I make thi at home I only use one chipotle pepper and one teaspoon of the adobo sauce. Don't rush to use the whole chipotle can, it is easier to add more than to take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sra Carranza

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was very good, and my husband loved it, which always makes me happy. Because I am a wimp, I only used about 3/4 of a chipotle pepper, and it was delicious. The best suggestion I took, though, was to simmer a cinnamon stick along with the mixture--added a very subtle but amazing depth of flavor that made the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javadrinker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
We loved this! Super tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pookyspooky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flovilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jackson, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I gave this 5 stars because I made as directed and my hubby and i thought it was delicious. It's like Mexican BBQ sauce or something, sweet, smoky and spicey. Warning though!!! It's crazy hot! I had to mix sour cream in it along with putting some on top! It was honestly a little to hot for me but I gave it 5 stars because the flavor was delicious and the hotness factor is personal preference. I will DEFINTELY make it again, but not for the kids!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI DIANA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
made twice. Very good, but very hot if you use all the peppers!! I normally put this in a crockpot and let it cook all day and then shredd the chicken. I freeze it in single serving containers and take it to work along with all the taco fixings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SWILSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Very good. I stuck the chicken into a crockpot and the peppers, and added an extra can of stewed tomatoes, and then the sauteed onions in it. And I cooked it on high for around 5 hours and it was delicious. Except there were WAY too many peppers in it for my liking, but I brought it into my Spanish class for a fiesta, and my professor LOVED it. As did everyone else in the class that enjoys spicy food. My professor said it was just like back home, and absolutely delicious. So maybe next time I'll only put in like one or two of the peppers and see how it goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Nice recipe, if you don't like it that spicy just add sour cream at the end as a topping along with lettuce, cheese and other mexican toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was a good recipe. I did add salt and put refried beans on the bottom of the tostada shell. Next time I think I will add can of green chilies, powder chili in the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
OMG! Great recipe! Both my husband and I loved it. I will be making this recipe again and again. The only thing that I changed was instead of canned stewed tomato's I cooked my own tomatos in some water. And it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This was a great, easy recipe. Nice and spicy. The meat is great for tacos too, or by itself. I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States