Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I was really scared that this was going to be too spicy for my kiddos, and it was for my 7 year-old son. But my two older daughters loved it, and said that I was just being wimpy. I do have slightly wimpy taste buds, and did think this was on the spicy side, but it had such terrific flavor, I couldn't stop eating it. This is so different from the usual mexican chicken that we are used to eating using taco seasoning. This recipe was quick, simple, and so good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very good, used 3 chipotles and it was perfect. We also chose to top our shells with coleslaw before topping with the chicken which was excellent although probably not authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I followed the recipe and they were good but didn't have any WOW factor for me. Hubby strongly disagreed and talked about this recipe for a week. I think my taste has changed and I no longer care for the chipotle/adobe flavor but if you do like it then give these a try. Hubby would have given 10 stars if he could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I made these for my family and it wasn't a hit at all...make sure that you and your family like the taste of adobo sauce (the sauce with chipotle peppers in the can) because it was extremely overwhelming and i didnt use much. I didnt like this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Mexican Tinga Haiku: "Terrific tinga. Simple, spicy flavor's great. Don't change a ThingA." I followed the recipe exactly, although I think I may have used 1/3 can of chipotles, knowing that otherwise, this would've had a bit too much of a punch for us. I thought that I'd serve it w/ a selection of toppings (grated cheese, shredded lettuce, chopped tomato, avocado and what-not), but truth be told, this was absolutely perfect served simply as written - w/ a plop of sour cream on top. Cannot wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This was really, really good. I used 3 chipotle peppers, which I removed the seeds from first, and put everything in my crock pot on low for about 4 hours. This was great with refried beans, cheese, and veggies over tostada shells, but I think the meat would also be delicious in tacos, burritos, southwestern eggrolls, or almost any Mexican/southwestern dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
adding shredded cabbage and letting it cook with the restof the ingredients tastes awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Very delicious. But I only used one pepper out of the can & that was PLENTY! I had to add an 8 oz can of tomato sauce though to turn down the heat just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was delicious and so easy! I used a rotisserie chicken which made it super fast (and tender). I used half the can of chipotle, and the spice level was perfect. I followed the recommendation to put a cinnamon stick in, but probably didn't put enough (only a 2.5 inch stick), so I might try more next time. I don't like tostadas, so I just put the mixture on soft corn tortillas with grated cheddar, cilantro, and sour cream. My fiance loved it, and he's the foodie between us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
SUPERB!! Absolutely delicious! I used fresh tomatoes and put it all in the crock pot for about 5 hours on low. Once the meat cooled, I discarded the fat, bones and skins and shredded the meat by hand. I then returned the chicken to the tomato sauce that it cooked in. I made tostadas with this meat topped it off with avocado & queso fresco. AMAZING!!!! I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States