Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
these are good enough and easy enough that i do plan on making again but they are lacking some "Zing". I followed another reviewers suggestion and just added everything to a crock pot. I cooked on high for 3 hours (shredding after 2). I jused 3 chipotle peppers and some adobo, it was a tad too hot for me so I also added a splash of tomato juice to mellow it out. It had some head and smoke but no real flavor. needs something, maybe cilantro and a splash of lime juice?? topped mine with shredded Mexican cheese lettuce, sour cream and a cilantro salsa and the bites with the salsa were definitely better than the ones without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Everybody loved this recipe! It was such a great change from the fajitas we always have. I cooked the chicken with a stick of cinnamon, it added a nice layer of flavour to everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Disodo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
My family loves this! Best served on a tostada shell spread with refried beans sprinkled with shredded cheddar, then a layer of the tinga, topped with shredded lettuce and chopped tomatoes. You'll need a fork and a knife but oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
MY GOD WE LOVE OUR TINGAS!!!! I forgot to rate this...have been making them for months! These are so good!! We just say the word and we start drooling and our eyes bug out of our head! YUM....we top ours with sour cream, tons of cilantro and when available avacado. To die for...what else can I say??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this several times. The family loves it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
took the suggestions and sed them. cinnamin was smart addition. this is a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Very good, love this recipe and so does my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I made this today as part of an early mother's day meal and WHAT A HIT! I made it with half the peppers, but all the sauce that way it'd appeal to most people. Instead using preshredded chicken I slow cooked 1 lb chicken breast and 1 lb of chicken thighs in the over at 250 for 4 hours (shredding 2.5 hours in) with the satueed onions and pepper and tomato puree. I added salt since I saw a lot of comments saying it needed salt. No one complained about it being too salty. Also, since I didn't have canned tomatoes i took two tomatoes and some chicken stock and used that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I make my tinga exaclty the same. For the reviewers who love spicy the more adobe the better!!! I add corn to mine and when placed on the tostadas I like to add cute lettuce with the sour cream then and sometimes I'll add some alvacado salsa to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Turned out pretty good. Myself, not the biggest fan of chipotle but my honey ( who is mexican) loved it. If your wanting to lessen the spicyness, I'd suggest 3-4 chipotle chiles vs what recipe calls for. I used the leftovers the next day in hoagie type sandwiches. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States