Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by AnthonyySilvio
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
WOW! This meal was incredible. I did not stray from the recipe much, I just added a few adjustments. First off, I used 2 chipotles and 2-3 tablespoons of adobo sauce. I also used crushed tomatoes because the store was out of stewed. I had a "happy accident" of not cooking the chicken first before adding it to the sauce/chipotle mixture. After 30 minutes simmering in the sauce, I removed it to shred it and it just FELL APART!. To make sure it was well-flavored, I put it back in the sauce, added about a teaspoon of salt, and let it simmer again for another 10 minutes. Topped the Tostada with Mexican Crema, shredded chicken, shredded cheese, and cilantro. SO AMAZING. THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I can attest to the authenticity of this recipe! I lived in Mexico City in the early 1990's and I was taught many recipes by my Mexican sister in law while there. Tinga was one of them. The only thing that I would add is that I was taught to make the tinga using equal amounts of onion and chicken (not by weight, but by volume). My sister in law was very specific about this...She said, "if you use a pile of chicken this big, you must use a pile of onions this big!" We always sauteed the onions in a small amount of butter until transparent then added the chicken and the tomato/chipotle mixture. Always served atop a tostada with a dollop of Mexican crema. My SIL was born and raised in Oaxaca - so perhaps her onion rule was a regional one. I've made this for my immediate and extended family on many occassions, and they all keep coming back for more. A huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Thomason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
these are good enough and easy enough that i do plan on making again but they are lacking some "Zing". I followed another reviewers suggestion and just added everything to a crock pot. I cooked on high for 3 hours (shredding after 2). I jused 3 chipotle peppers and some adobo, it was a tad too hot for me so I also added a splash of tomato juice to mellow it out. It had some head and smoke but no real flavor. needs something, maybe cilantro and a splash of lime juice?? topped mine with shredded Mexican cheese lettuce, sour cream and a cilantro salsa and the bites with the salsa were definitely better than the ones without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Everybody loved this recipe! It was such a great change from the fajitas we always have. I cooked the chicken with a stick of cinnamon, it added a nice layer of flavour to everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Disodo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
My family loves this! Best served on a tostada shell spread with refried beans sprinkled with shredded cheddar, then a layer of the tinga, topped with shredded lettuce and chopped tomatoes. You'll need a fork and a knife but oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
MY GOD WE LOVE OUR TINGAS!!!! I forgot to rate this...have been making them for months! These are so good!! We just say the word and we start drooling and our eyes bug out of our head! YUM....we top ours with sour cream, tons of cilantro and when available avacado. To die for...what else can I say??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this several times. The family loves it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
took the suggestions and sed them. cinnamin was smart addition. this is a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Very good, love this recipe and so does my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I made this today as part of an early mother's day meal and WHAT A HIT! I made it with half the peppers, but all the sauce that way it'd appeal to most people. Instead using preshredded chicken I slow cooked 1 lb chicken breast and 1 lb of chicken thighs in the over at 250 for 4 hours (shredding 2.5 hours in) with the satueed onions and pepper and tomato puree. I added salt since I saw a lot of comments saying it needed salt. No one complained about it being too salty. Also, since I didn't have canned tomatoes i took two tomatoes and some chicken stock and used that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States