Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I loved this recipe. Big, Big hit with my family. However, I did add a couple cloves of garlic,and onion along with salt, pepper and cumin in the blender with the tomatoes and chipotle's. Also topped with shrdded lettuce, diced onion and some grated parmasean cheese and mexican cream. Will prepare this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I made this recipe for the guys my husband works with, so I tripled it and made it in the slow cooker. I added 5 cinnamon sticks and bought the mexican sour cream as suggested. The night I made it, with only one can of Chipotle peppers it was VERY hot! The next morning it was only slightly spicy, and by lunch time it was not hot at all. If you plan to cook this for a long time, use the whole can that the recipe calls for. Everyone at work loved it and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I will never make chicken sopes, tacos, taqiutos, or tostada's WITHOUT this great tasty and juicey meat again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugaRandSpiceYeverythingNicey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Covina, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was excellent!! The only thing I did differently was that I didn't have a can of chipotles in adobo sauce but I do have a jar of dried chipotle chile flakes. I added 1 tablespoon and it was wonderful, pretty spicy too. I also used a can of fire roasted tomatoes (so much better than stewed - in my opinion anyway) I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shar E.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was really good! I used maybe 2 chipotle peppers and some sauce and also made rice to give people options. In addition to just eating it with warm corn tortillas, it was good with rice added to the tortillas and just on top of rice. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very good base, but needs a little something more to make it a 5 star. I am thinking of making a black bean/corn combo up and adding it to the tortillas with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Just wanted to add a comment as I live in Mexico and cook Tinga alot and one of the main ingriedents of Traditional mexican tinga is Cinnamon. The cinnamon is very important as it plays a huge part in the flavor. Best to use a few pieces of cinnamon stick rather then powder. Also you really only need 1-2 chipotle´s from a can depending on how hot you want it. A whole can would be VERY hot!! I would also add some chicken stock, for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
521 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I live in France now and I really crave Mexican food. I decided to make this for my husband and his French friends and they loved it!! It is a delicious and authentic recipe. I just added a bit of salt and pepper and a dash of chicken bouillon when I mixed it. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
was kinda wondering what a tinga was but decided to give this a try and....YUMMY!!! i was making for a group so added 2 cans mexican stewed tomatoes to 1 can peppers and it was perfect as far as hotness used 5 lbs boneless chicken breasts also added some garlic and cilantro. was a huge hit...will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This was good. Needs salt. I actually like it better using left over rotisserie chicken. I used a can of fire roasted tomatoes instead of just plain stewed tomatoes. I can't imagine using all the chipotle though. I love it, but I actually just use the sauce that the chiles are in. Really helps tame the heat but still nice and smoky. To cut back on fat I baked corn tortillas at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes. I lightly sprayed them with olive oil spray first. They came out nice and crunchy. I have made this many times on the stove. When I attempted to use the slow cooker, I wasn't happy with the results. It came out way too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States