Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
very good, i just added some cinnamon,i also use chicken drumsticks like 8 big ones boiled them in water with salt and onion for about 45 min. it was very tender and moist,also i only added about 2 chiles from the abobo mixture otherwise it would be super spicy,i came out spicy enough it made me sweat:)i like it it delicious,oh my husband is on his way home,i hope he like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I first had Tinga at a Mexican wedding, and I asked the Bride what it was and how I could make it. I then found this recipe online and it is delicious. There are many ways to enjoy this recipe. I have made nachos, con queso dip, on salad, burritos, and as it is pictured. I have used chicken and pork. I don't, however use all of the chipotle peppers as that is quite spicy, but I do use all of the smoky adobo sauce. I looked for the mexican cream in Shop N Save and could not find it. But I mix fresh cilantro with the regular sour cream and it adds a nice fresh flavor. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Made it in slow cooker and added cilantro and garlic and it came out fantastic. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenziegrove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
i love this the thing a recommend is that when u put in the chipotle first put one or two peppers with a spoonfull of the adobo sauce then gradually add the peppers as u like bcus with one or two its enough. i also ue a can of diced tomates and some salt and garlic to taste when i dont have stewed tomatoes. really delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This was made for a dinner party and was very well received. Used one small can of "Herdez" Chipotle and it was hot, but would only give it a 7/10 on the heat scale. We will make this again, but if you dont like spicy food, this isn't for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYROY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I wasn't a big fan of this, and hubby just flat out refused to try it. I only used about 4 chipotle peppers, and it was too spicy for me. I was really excited about trying this recipe, so I'm not sure why it didn't go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very tasty. I just suggest to cut back pretty significantly on the peppers if you are not accustomed to hot food. We only used about 2/3 of the can, and it was still very hot. We will cut it back more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Very easy and very good. After reading that cinnamon is a traditional spice for tinga, i too added a cinnamon stick while it simmered.....A whole can of chipotles?? Is that a joke or just a typo? I can not imagine what an entire can of chipotles will do to ones mouth!! I only added 3 peppers and i thought even that was really spicey. Anyways, loved this and will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I have a friend who used to make tinga and I always loved it. I made this recipe the other day and it was really good. I used just under half of the can of chipotles and adobo sauce and it was spicy but not unbearable. I would probably use even less if I made this for guests. I just boiled and shredded a few frozen chicken breasts and added them when called for in the recipe. This is definitely one of my new favorite recipes and it is really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made this for a Cinco De Mayo party. A few changes...add 1 tsp. cinnamon to the onions while they sautee. Also, cut the peppers down to 3 and seed them. A whole can unseeded will ruin this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States