Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This was made for a dinner party and was very well received. Used one small can of "Herdez" Chipotle and it was hot, but would only give it a 7/10 on the heat scale. We will make this again, but if you dont like spicy food, this isn't for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYROY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I wasn't a big fan of this, and hubby just flat out refused to try it. I only used about 4 chipotle peppers, and it was too spicy for me. I was really excited about trying this recipe, so I'm not sure why it didn't go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very tasty. I just suggest to cut back pretty significantly on the peppers if you are not accustomed to hot food. We only used about 2/3 of the can, and it was still very hot. We will cut it back more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Very easy and very good. After reading that cinnamon is a traditional spice for tinga, i too added a cinnamon stick while it simmered.....A whole can of chipotles?? Is that a joke or just a typo? I can not imagine what an entire can of chipotles will do to ones mouth!! I only added 3 peppers and i thought even that was really spicey. Anyways, loved this and will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I have a friend who used to make tinga and I always loved it. I made this recipe the other day and it was really good. I used just under half of the can of chipotles and adobo sauce and it was spicy but not unbearable. I would probably use even less if I made this for guests. I just boiled and shredded a few frozen chicken breasts and added them when called for in the recipe. This is definitely one of my new favorite recipes and it is really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made this for a Cinco De Mayo party. A few changes...add 1 tsp. cinnamon to the onions while they sautee. Also, cut the peppers down to 3 and seed them. A whole can unseeded will ruin this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I was really worried that this wasn't going to come out to our liking after tasting the adobo sauce (my first time having it). However, it tasted really nice after everything simmered together for a while. I used a couple teaspoons of the abobo sauce and only one of the peppers as I was worried it would be too spicy for my wimpy tastebuds. I did throw a clove of garlic in the blender when I pureed the pepper and tomatoes and followed the suggestions of adding a cinnamon stick while simmering. I served these with a little bit of a shredded Mexican cheese blend, sour cream, and chopped cilantro on top. We really enjoyed this recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Yummmmmy! I only put in 4 of the adobo chilies to control the heat. I pureed them with the tomatoes and sauteed onions. I also added a clove of garlic. Then threw this into the crock pot with the chicken and one can of chicken broth for about 6 hours. The chicken literally fell apart and it had an incredibly wonderful flavor!!! I served on the tostada shell with lettuce and a southwestern (corn, tomato and black bean) salsa. Thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Ok, I have alot of things to add... We cook a chicken flavored white rice to put on the tostada before we pile the meat on, it's great. As for the chiles, I use 2-3 for 2 1/2 lbs. of shredded chicken. Be sure to use all of the adobo sauce from the can though. Sometimes I substitute the stewed tomatoes with tomato sauce or fresh, cooked tomatoes. We also top with queso fresco, shredded lettuce and sour cream (definately mexican). I always add 1 stick of cinn. while it is simmering. I pull it out when it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Excellent as is but I did add some black beans and mexicorn to make it a complete meal. DH loved it and some of my peers at work asked for the recipe when I took the left overs in. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States