Mexican Sushi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Laura Mixon Moreau
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
A fun appetizer for anytime! Except for the cream cheese mixture, I added each ingredient in rows parallel to the direction I was rolling them up. (see picture I added)I think it makes a cleaner appearance after cutting them. Hope that makes sense. Roll them very snug to eliminate gaps between the ingredients and make sure your knife is sharp so you don't tear the tortilla when you slice them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Mixon Moreau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
If the chiles are too spicy for you (as they are for me), mix the cream cheese instead with taco seasoning (chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder). I also warmed the refried beans before putting them on the tortilla. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HRDWAY8
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRDWAY8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Fantastic basis. Very easy to add or subtract ingredients for your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOODLACE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Didn't care for these & really messy to make !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
These were easy and make a great appetizer or light lunch! Surprisingly, my grocery store didn't have a good selection of flavored tortillas, but I found some cheddar jalapeno tortillas and that gave this recipe a nice kick of flavor! I also had to substitute regular refried beans for the black beans, but this was still a tasty snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
We really enjoyed this "sushi." I omitted the chipotle peppers are we are not fans and used wheat tortillas (seemed wasteful to buy multiple packs of tortillas just for different colored tortillas. Great served sliced or as a wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Dead easy! I skip cilantro because I don't care for it, but otherwise a great party recipe. Easy to alter the ingredients for more fun. Yum! Yum! All gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A. M. Spharler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Great recipe! I only used flour tortillas and added fresh mango with the avocado. I blended a little sour cream with the cream cheese and added some jalapeño cilantro dip seasoning to the mixture because it's what I had and I also didn't use the chipotle. A mango pico de gallo was a refreshing touch. Overall my family loved this for an appetizer and it was super simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Just made it and it was great! Added some jicama for texture...I think it was a good add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States