Mexican Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Tastes just like the Mexican cookies you get from a real Mexican bakery! If you like that taste, you will love these. Personally, I am not a big fan of the cookie - just too bland in taste for me BUT my friends who grew up on these cookies love them and I happily make the cookies for them! The dough is extremely delicate and tender which is why you have to keep the cookie so thick but no one seems to mind. The cookies hold their shape while in the oven - they don't "melt" and spread all over the pan so you can use a pretty cutter to make your cookies. Thanks for a super recipe that is sure to please! Oh, I put my anise seeds in my mortar and pestle and ground them up pronto, no problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gopintos
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made these for our dinner tomorrow, a taco day, so I thought these would go well with our Mexican theme. The recipe was just fine, thus the 4 stars. However not really my preference if I were going to make a batch of cookies for every day. I would prefer the snickerdoodle. However the recipe delivered. And the name made it fit right in with the theme. I double batched it and I didnt make them as thick, so I ended up with a whole lot of cookies. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These were bland. The recipe resembled something I make, but the slight differences were enough to take a pretty good recipe and turn it into a cookie without taste or character. Won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
These cookies turned out awful. They wouldn't bake, and I followed the directons word for word. Horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Plain cookie that just wasn't good. A waste of good ingredients. Stay far clear. Way to much shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
My guests really enjoyed these and my girls and I had fun making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victorian Isobel
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I made these for a Mexican party, they were a hit! Love the light delicate texture of this cookie. I cut them into star shapes. I did not need any extra egg at all they stayed together just fine. I found mine appeared darker than those pictured and I used the 1 cup of sugar with 3 Tablespoons of cinnamon. Yummy a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I was looking for a recipe for biscochos and I found this one. I made these for New Year's, my guest took the leftover's and said they had it with coffee the next morning, which left me with none. So I will make these again very soon. I followed the recipe exactly except I left the anise seed whole I don't know if that makes a difference, but they were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I just don't get it. To me, they were dry and boring. And way too delicate. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I took these cookies to a football tailgate party and they were a hit. The college kids were grabbing 2 and 3 at a time. I was sorry I couldn't find anise seed but used 1 tsp of anise extract. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States