Mexican-Style Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
LOVED this.. I left out the cayenne for the kids and added fresh cilantro with the raw veggies...a tad of sour cream and hot salsa... amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I just tried this recipe and it was definitely a good, healthy alternative. I was very surprised at how well I liked it. I did add about a cup of extra salsa as it looked to dry and also added steamed corn for some extra color and flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Loved the spices and added salsa to the meat portion of this recipe! I did skip the beans added to the meat, just personal preference. I added a few more goodies to the salad, avocado, cheddar cheese, tomatoes, olives and tortilla chips. I dressed with Dorothy Lynch dressing from this site, delicious! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Unfortunately, I had to make this recipe without the carrots and bell peppers because I didn't have any. Otherwise, I made the recipe as stated and must say it came out delicious! All of the dry seasonings, along with the onion and garlic, are what you would typically find in taco seasoning. I thought the dish might need some salt, but found it was perfect without adding any. I added low fat shredded cheese to my serving and used a little La Victoria Red Taco Sauce as a dressing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This was pretty good. My husband said it needed more of a "kick". I was worried it was going to be too spicy, but it wasn't. I was using it for tacos instead of a salad, so I didn't do the lettuce or carrots. I sauteed bell peppers with the onion before adding the turkey. I didn't add the garlic (I used 4 cloves) until the turkey was almost browned. Instead of salsa, I did 1/4 cup tomato paste, 1/4 cup chopped tomatoes, 1/2 cup water and 1 Tbl. Apple Cider Vinegar. It was pretty bland until I added some sea salt to bring out the flavors. I enjoyed it and my kids loved it! Next time I may add a little more cayenne to spice things up a bit. I did use 1 1/2 lbs. of ground turkey which may have spread out the flavor a bit. Maybe it would have been spicy enough had I only used 1 lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Just so-so. Husband made it "non-low-calorie" by adding sour cream and tortilla chips :) (Made it taste better, too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
FANTASTIC blend of seasonings. I"ll never use package taco seasonings again! Followed recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
We had to add a bit to this but in the end we all loved it. It will be another favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovelyfamilyofmine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These were fantastic!! They are kind of spicy, though, so if you don't like spicy food you should be careful of how much chili powder and pepper you add. I made a few adjustments just because of what I had in the kitchen and personal preference. Firstly, I used two cups of salsa instead of one because the meat mixture was too dry for my taste. I used black beans instead of kidney beans, black pepper instead of cayenne pepper and a bag salad mix while some ate it on soft taco shells. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki_dw

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States