Mexican-Style Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These meatballs tasted just like the tostadas, so that was weird. The sauce was good. This had potential but could have been a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Absolutely loved this tasty recipe and so did my hubby! I made the meatballs as written using crushed tortilla chips, yummy! I added some cumin and taco seasoning to the mix along with some fresh chopped cilantro & minced garlic. I played a little more with the sauce, sauteed the onion with minced garlic, then used Barilla garlic Neapolitan as the base, and Rotell for the diced tomatoes. I also added a 4oz can of diced green chilis, too. I spiced this up with some cumin and more taco seasoning. I also added a good handfull of chopped cilantro to the sauce. What a great dish. This would be fun for Cinco de Mayo! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Sachin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Only reason it wouldn't get a perfect score is because it was pretty preparation intensive and ended up being VERY spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I was having friends over for dinner so I thought it'd be a good time to try this recipe. I couldn't find a type of chili powder that was called for; however, I was able to sub a few things but, nothing I'll share. Just note that it turned out great and they went home happy and one is sleep on the couch. The meatballs sort of took me back to when I was a child so it was fun making those too. I might have gotten carried away with the peppers because my lips are just cooling down. I'll definitely make this again, I'm thinking to an office potluck for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael B.
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I loved this recipe. I chose to brown the meatballs in olive oil in a large skillet on both sides and then simmered them instead of baking them in the oven. I used Hunts brand Roasted Garlic & Onion sauce and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
5 Stars for the idea because I Totally changed it to a "Mexican Style Spaghetti Meat Sauce." This may not seem a "fair" review in some peoples eyes, but I REALLY appreciate the idea! Use ground beef and eliminate tostadas, bread crumbs, olive oil (unless using a real lean meat), essentially all the meatball stuff. Brown meat with remaining meatball ingredients. Combine sauce ingredients and cook together in a saucepan then combine with meat and serve over pasta. 1 or 2 pounds of meat? I don't know, I'll have to figure that out. 1 or 2 pounds of pasta? Same thing. It's going to be fun working on this one! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I made this exactly as written and garnished with cilantro and loved it. I could not find guajillo powder but I did find whole dried guajillo chile's in my Hispanic section. Before tossing them in my old coffee grinder for powder I sliced them open and removed the seeds. I decided to dig a hole and toss the seeds in my garden a couple of weeks ago and I have a couple dozen pepper plants coming up. Not sure what will become of them but it was fun. This Mexican twist was a nice change from your every day spaghetti. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Great! Pretty easy too; I have little ones so I left out the jalapeno and Anaheim and I used about 4 cups fresh tomatoes from our garden instead of the canned. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I added more cheese to the meatballs and or under cooked them a tad bit, cause the consistancy was off. My children didnt like the meatballs, but ate the sauce and noodles. My husband however, enjoyed it all very much. it was okay to me, the spice was nice, but too much sauce and had a hassle getting all the different peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
A wonderful twist on spaghetti to liven things up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States