Mexican Style Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Wow! What a great recipe!! I followed Judy's review and couldn't' have been more pleased. The only change I made from her suggestions was to use chicken breast (5-6) and put them in whole instead of pieces. Seasoned them up good with the Mrs. Dash chipolte seasoning. If using the chicken, I would suggest cutting down on the water to 2 1/2 or even 2 cups. I had way too much gravy after cooking and only added about half of it back in to give the chicken moisture and flavor. I think they inject water or broth into the chicken these days so sans the extra liquid. Next time (and there will be a next time!) I want to follow some of the other reviewers suggestions about adding the cilantro and some lime juice to the meat, etc. Maybe it's just me, but mine turned out tasting a whole lot like the chicken served at Chipolte's restaurants. If it's not the same it's sure close! A million thanks, Tora.v, for a fantastic recipe and to Judy for her helpful and delicious suggestions. This recipe will long be enjoyed at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
We don't do spicy so I just used the salt, cilantro and garlic with the pork in the crock pot and it was so tasty! Wonderful over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Excellent! Smelled kind of weird in the crockpot, but, tastes terrific! We ate this at least 4 different ways over the week. The lime rice was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This is an amazing recipe! I made Mexican style quinoa instead of the rice. Also, I seasoned the pork with salt, pepper, and Cajun seasoning first. It came out perfectly and is now a household favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This was good...we served it in fresh corn tortillas w/cilantro, guacamole by Bob Cody from this site, sour cream and cheese instead of over rice. Everyone liked it but could have been a little more spicy for our taste. Also, only gave four starts as mine did not shred very well after cutting into chunks. Probably would have shredded better if I had left the meat whole instead and then shredded at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Beans don't get any better than this recipe. To speed up the process, I used canned pinto beans, and followed instructions as written. Thanks, Lindsay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Wow! This is wonderful! I made this for a taco bar at a graduation party. It was so flavorful and easy to make. I didn't have the chipotle sauce so subbed a little liquid smoke and some chili powder. Bet I would have liked it even more with the chipotle sauce!! Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I skipped the rice, added lime and whole chipotles in adobada sauce (took them out after the 7 hours) sprinkled with chipotle seasoning and made tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States