Mexican Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
These meatballs were a hit with family this weekend! It was the second time I'd made them - the first time I added an extra chipotle pepper and it was a little too spicey for us. This time I stuck to the recipe and it still had a bit of a kick to it, but even my 4 y/o was able to enjoy it. I baked the meatballs while I made the sauce to get away from 'fried'. Then I put it into a crockpot with a can of tomato paste so that it wouldn't have that watery consistency that you can get with crockpot recipies - made a perfect sauce! Had leftovers with mashed potatoes last night - yummy. Originally served it with refried beans, homemade tortillas and some vegi's. Delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I made this and scaled it down using only ground beef. The sauce is excellent, I used two Anaheim peppers and added half a yellow onion into the blender. It paired very well with paella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I thought It's was ok but my daughter and boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
The meatballs were delicious, and the sauce was just the perfect level of hot. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used stewed tomatoes instead of diced (didn't have any diced) and I added chicken base to the tomato sauce instead of the chicken broth. The sauce would have been too thin otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Great flavor, though I would recommend using less chicken broth for a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Took this to a potluck for my spanish class. All raved and the instructor couldn't leave them alone. There will be NO leftovers!! Even my fussy hubby really enjoyed them, as did my 11 year old. Not too hot, but with enough spice to make them enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I did not like the sauce or the meatball
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregoryz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
These were delicious. And ver spicy. I broiled the meatballs, and in fact clenaup was easier and the meatballs were healthier. I added more of the chipotle peppers(you can find at Mexican markets) since I love spicy food. I also added a bit of sugar to the sauce since I was afraid that the tomatoes might be bitter.I also put less tomatoes and a can of tomatoe paste. I put over some macaroni. My husband added some black olives and grated paramsean to make it a meal, next time I will put the mozzarella in the middle as recommended. I think these would be fabulous appetizers!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
These were very good meatballs. I used a whole can of chipotle peppers but I like it very spicy. I took them to my work and everyone loved them and ate them up. I followed the directions just like it said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanielynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Mini Penne with Meatballs

See how to make meatballs and pasta in a creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States