Mexican Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Excellent meatballs!!! The best I've ever made or had! Tons of compliments and requests for the recipe. PLEASE NOTE: There is a bit of spicyness to the meatballs - my friend fed them to their two year old and she started to cry because it was too hot. But all of the adults and older kids loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This is a great recipe. As others have nmentioned, they are pretty spicey so adjust the taste if you are serving kids. I made them for a party and everyone raved about them! I loved the recipe as is - no modifications were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I made this for dinner last night and everyone loved it! And that's saying something since i coulnd't find any chipotle peppers and had to use a couple of whole chillies to get the spiciness instead. Will be making it again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I like it spicy but the folks I live with (kids and hubby) didn't, so I added 1/4 c Miracle Whip and 2 T sugar. It was still very spicy, but more bearable for them. You can't taste the sugar or miracle whip. I served it over spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
absolutely yummy! I will make again and again. The chipotle peppers add a nice bite to the flavor. I will be freezing the leftovers so we can enjoy this again and again. I did not make any changes to the recipe. Perfect just the way it is. Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
The very best meatballs I have ever had, and probably the best recipe I have ever found on allrecipes.com. One addition that I add to each meatball is to dice up some string cheese and place a chunk in the middle of each one. Makes the meatballs taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Excellent appetizer! I cooked the meatballs in the oven on a broiler pan at 400 degrees instead of frying them to save time and clean up, and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
These are the best meatballs that you will ever have. My brother makes these for special occasions and they are always all gone in one night. He also adds cut up string cheese to the middle of each meatball, which makes them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I used 2 lbs very lean ground beef and 1 lb ground pork. Otherwise, I used the exact ingredients in the recipe. To save time, I made the sauce per instructions, but did not brown the meatballs separately. I just put them in the sauce and cooked them for a couple of hours until they were done. Saves time, mess and the sauce picks up the meat flavor and vice versa. I did dice some cilantro and toss in towards the end. I used these as appetizers for a party and have a bit leftover, so I'll make green chile rice to serve them over. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I loved this sauce! I needed some Mexican appetizers for a party but didn't have a ton of time, so I just bought a bag of frozen meatballs and put this sauce together the night before. Then the day of party I just threw the meatballs in the crock pot with the sauce and a few hours later, they were done! Everyone loved them. I think I could have threw in about twice the chipotles though. Maybe the brand I got was a mild one. But I do like it spicy!! Thanks for a great recipe. I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Mini Penne with Meatballs

See how to make meatballs and pasta in a creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States