Mexican Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Loved these meatballs. I had to make 1 change due to having no tinned tomatoes so I added 3/4 a bottle of V8 hot n spicy which was delicious & like others I put small cubes of provolone cheese into the meatballs prior to cooking....will definitely make them again & again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
These were good and very easy, but it seems that we don't care for chipotle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
These are really good. With 3 chilis they are probably a little too hot for kids. (You could probably use this recipe without the chills, add taco seasoning to the meatballs and cumin to the sauce and it would be good for kids, but then it would be a completely different recipe!) I made them low carb by substituting ground pork rinds for the bread crumbs. I also added about a teaspoon of Splenda brown sugar to tone down the tomatoes' acidity. I wanted a little more smokiness than the chipotles imparted so I added a few drops of liquid smoke. For those commenting about sauce thinness: let the sauce simmer uncovered with the meatballs in it until it thickens to the consistency you want. I let mine cook about 30 minutes uncovered and got a nice thick sauce that sticks to the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Blew up the kitchen first time I made these but they are so worth it. They are a favorite and I get asked for them a lot. I do cheat and use frozen meatballs sometimes which is a real time saver. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Oakdale, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by renofoodie
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Good meatballs - a bit spicier than I expected, however. I served them with jasmine rice. Makes plenty - enough to freeze for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Even better the next day. If I were to make again I would not use any pork and also add more peppers. I also baked the meatballs instead or frying for a healthier alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Just made this for my bunco- they are great. I only used 2 chipotle peppers because some of the girls are wimps when it comes to spice, but it still has a nice, mild heat to it. I baked the meatballs at 400 degrees for about 12 minutes- much easier & the clean up was a breeze. This recipe made about 80 3/4 to inch meatballs for me. I will definitely add it to my party food rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Very tasty. I think a touch of sugar helped them out. Just the right amt. of heat for most people. Served at a party and went over well. Will keep them in my appetizer file and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
These meatballs are great, my family request them once a week. For easy clean up and healthier meatballs, place them under the broiler at 400 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
These meatballs were a hit with family this weekend! It was the second time I'd made them - the first time I added an extra chipotle pepper and it was a little too spicey for us. This time I stuck to the recipe and it still had a bit of a kick to it, but even my 4 y/o was able to enjoy it. I baked the meatballs while I made the sauce to get away from 'fried'. Then I put it into a crockpot with a can of tomato paste so that it wouldn't have that watery consistency that you can get with crockpot recipies - made a perfect sauce! Had leftovers with mashed potatoes last night - yummy. Originally served it with refried beans, homemade tortillas and some vegi's. Delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Mini Penne with Meatballs

See how to make meatballs and pasta in a creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States