Mexican Style Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I enjoyed this, good taco like flavor, even days later as a leftover without chips. I did not have salsa when I made it so I added a can of chopped chili ready tomatoes. It came out a bit soupy and very beefy (blaming this on not draining tomatoes first and using too much ground beef), but days later it was thick. Tough to get through the grated cheese with a chip, would suggest a more processed cheese. I'm curious like another user whether mixing salsa and refried beans and if you don't like processed cheese (blech!) it might be better for dipping to sprinkling fresh cheese on after baking. I'll be playing with this recipe a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
No one really cared for this. It needed something. Tasted like taco meat minus the rest of the taco. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencerport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I used reduced fat cream cheese, homemade taco seasoning, omitted the water and upped the salsa and used a full can of diced mild green chilies (I don't normally have fresh chilies on hand). I threw everything in the crockpot a few hours before our party and let it go until party time. GREAT party dip--all my guests loved it and it was not only quick and easy, it was cheap as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I added about 1/2 cup of chopped res bell pepper to the meat mixture after it was cooked. I also added 3 chopped green onions before adding the cheese and it added a nice flavour. My children and husband really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I have made this dip too often to remember. My family loves it, my friends love it. Everytime I make it I get request for more and the recipe. I have actually grown tired of having to make it for every event. Tomorrow is the Super Bowl so I have a big one expected tomorrow. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this for weekly dinner night with my family, we have about 10 people but I still doubled it. The theme was Mexican and this fit right in! Everyone loved it, there was barely any left! I made a few small changes, I mixed velveeta and some of the Mexican cheese (actually used "taco cheese" but its similar, it just has some seasoning in it) in with the skillet mixture. Once I poured the mixture over the cream cheese I sprinkled the Mexi-cheese and some salsa over the top and put the jalepenos on top instead. I did this because not everyone in my family likes jalepenos, and that way they could avoid them! I made sure to bake it for a good 10 minutes so everything got good and melted together. We served it with good sturdy chips too. My sister in law and my mother in law both asked for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Tastes good but doesn't go over big at parties. Use the leftovers for quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very thick. We put it in a dip crock pot and it just didn't go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was good and easy to make. I added all the ingredients to the pan after I was done cooking the meat except the water and jalapeno's. I did add a but more salsa since I didn't add the jalapenos. I mixed everything together. It wasn't pretty but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
So good...perfect for football season. It was the first dish to go!! I'll def. double it next time. So easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States