Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This cornbread was very moist, which I loved! The jalapenos and onions provided a nice blend of spice and texture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
My first attempt at mexican style cornbread and it turned out awesome! I used white cornmeal, wasn't sure what kind to get and left out the onion. The baking time was right on for me too. The bread was perfectly moist and I forgot to add the cheese at the end on the top, but I was really pleased anyway. My family loved the bread! I can't imagine making any mexican dish from now on without it. Thanks for such a simple and wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Wow, great recipe. I made some changes that made it perfect for our southern taste - minced 1/2 onion, 3 peppers, pinch of cumin, 1T sugar, whole kernel corn, mixed all of cheese in batter. Cooked on 325 for 50-60 min. Cooking slower, longer seems to distribute the wonderful flavor as does mincing vegs. Thanks for the best mexican cornbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Thank you! this is the best cornbread I've ever made and I've made a few over the years. It was moist inside and crispy outside. This one will be made again very soon at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
My family really loved this - moist and delicious. Great with chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I made this recipes yesterday, made enough for 2 8 inch square pans, to take to a lunch I did for the guys at our local armory. The cornbread was the HIT! Will be making me another one today to go with the rest of the BBQ I made. I will also be trying it with green chilies instead of the peppers. I used a 1/2 can of chopped peppers btw, didn't buy whole peppers and cut them up. Can't do that with my contacts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I tried this recipe and also added 1/2 cup of sugar and cayenne pepper but I omitted the butter milk for regular milk and mixed all the cheddar cheese in the batter instead 1/2 on top, it turned out GREAT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Using this recipe as a guide, i tweaked a few things to try to remake this delicious cornbread i tasted a month ago at AK restaurant in Venice, on Abbot Kinney. And i came pretty close! The initial base recipe was a bit moist and bland, so the 2nd time i made it as follows: reduced buttermilk to 3/4 cup, sautéed a whole sweet onion (diced) and seasoned with salt BEFORE adding to batter, added 1 cup white sugar, sprinkled 5 big dashes of cayenne pepper(it was really spicy, but offset by the sweet and so tasty!), and i did NOT sprinkle the cheddar cheese over the top of the batter after i poured it into the 8x8 baking dish. I know i baked it for at least 40 minutes at 375 F, but don't remember exactly how long. i took it out when the center of the bread was light brown and the edges were darker brown. this recipe makes a very sweet cornbread, so if you don't like sweet, adjust the sugar to your liking. (i think 1/4 cup would be a subtle enhancement but not too sweet) Hope my review helped someone out! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Great recipe, easy to adjust too. I have made it several times, with 2% milk, 2 cups of cheddar cheese in the mix, and half a can of mexicorn, without jalapenos or chilies. Came out fantastic, with great pepper taste without the heat (kid friendly!). I have also made it adding chopped ham. It's one of my family favorite sides to have whenever we barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I think the cornbread had a very good taste. It is a very moist cornbread but I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Karr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States