Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I made this recipes yesterday, made enough for 2 8 inch square pans, to take to a lunch I did for the guys at our local armory. The cornbread was the HIT! Will be making me another one today to go with the rest of the BBQ I made. I will also be trying it with green chilies instead of the peppers. I used a 1/2 can of chopped peppers btw, didn't buy whole peppers and cut them up. Can't do that with my contacts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I tried this recipe and also added 1/2 cup of sugar and cayenne pepper but I omitted the butter milk for regular milk and mixed all the cheddar cheese in the batter instead 1/2 on top, it turned out GREAT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Using this recipe as a guide, i tweaked a few things to try to remake this delicious cornbread i tasted a month ago at AK restaurant in Venice, on Abbot Kinney. And i came pretty close! The initial base recipe was a bit moist and bland, so the 2nd time i made it as follows: reduced buttermilk to 3/4 cup, sautéed a whole sweet onion (diced) and seasoned with salt BEFORE adding to batter, added 1 cup white sugar, sprinkled 5 big dashes of cayenne pepper(it was really spicy, but offset by the sweet and so tasty!), and i did NOT sprinkle the cheddar cheese over the top of the batter after i poured it into the 8x8 baking dish. I know i baked it for at least 40 minutes at 375 F, but don't remember exactly how long. i took it out when the center of the bread was light brown and the edges were darker brown. this recipe makes a very sweet cornbread, so if you don't like sweet, adjust the sugar to your liking. (i think 1/4 cup would be a subtle enhancement but not too sweet) Hope my review helped someone out! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Great recipe, easy to adjust too. I have made it several times, with 2% milk, 2 cups of cheddar cheese in the mix, and half a can of mexicorn, without jalapenos or chilies. Came out fantastic, with great pepper taste without the heat (kid friendly!). I have also made it adding chopped ham. It's one of my family favorite sides to have whenever we barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I think the cornbread had a very good taste. It is a very moist cornbread but I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Karr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is soooo good! I have made it several times, and it always is a huge hit. We never have buttermilk, so I put a tablespoon of vinegar in a cup of regular milk, and it turns out great. What a super, awesome recipe! I actually made it with regular corn, since I was out of creamed corn, and it still was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I did not adjust this recipe at all and it turned out great. I put it in my recipe box and will make it again for Thanksgiving; However, I wouldn't give this cook credit for coming up with this recipe. I found one 15 years ago on some cornmeal bag and thought it was delicious and wanted to make it again. This recipe has identical ingredients. But I'm glad it's here because I really needed the measurements. Thanks for reiterating a classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I made this recipe with home chili beans and my family loooovvveeed it. I will keep this in my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
this is a sensational recipe! Everyone has me whipping them up a batch now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made this and took it to our huge 4th of July Shrimp and Sausage boil. It wasn't too spicy, but still had a kick, and it was almost melt in your mouth. My granddad even said it was the best cornbread he's ever eaten! I doubled the recipe, so it obviously took longer in the oven. Next time I might try and put bell peppers in too, so it will have more colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States