Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
i used alot less than 1/4 c oil more like 1/8 c and i let the batter sit a few minutes to fluff up a little bit. solid recipe just too much oil for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is the best... I have made all the others! Personnally, I put more jalapeno pepper in mine and I do like the heat. I have found a course shredded, extra sharp cheddar cheese works better than the fine grated cheese. I find the extra sharp cheese retains more cheese flavor with less fat. Very Good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I can only give it three stars. I followed the recipe to a tee and, while it was very tasty, the bread seemed to be very dense. It was not the cornbread I was looking for, as we prefer something a little lighter and sweeter. If you are looking for a heavy savoury cornbread, rthen this may be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
love love! so easy, hard to mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Transylvania, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I loved the favor of this recipe, however it was mussy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catkin
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is my second try at a cornbread recipe from Allrecipes. This particular one is by far my favourite. It turned out slightly soggy, probably due to difficulties in getting precise measurements on my metric scales, and the fact that I added more creamed corn! Nevertheless it was delicious. I did not have fresh jalapenos so used some in brine. I also added some cayenne pepper which gave the cornbread a lovely kick. I will be making this again and will probably double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I did not like this at all, it was very mushy and not like cornbread at all, it was more like a spoonbread, which I don't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
made this for the first time last night, made exactly by the recipe EXCEPT I had no buttermilk so I used 3/4 cup 2% milk and I was out of jalapeno so I jut omitted it, will use it next time. My husband and son said this was the best cornbread ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Awesome! My favorite Mexican cornbread ever. I always make this with a big pot of beans. We all love it. Cooks slower in my oven (more like an hour), but other than that didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I didn't have most of the ingredients, so I used this recipe as my base. I had a box of cornbread mix, made it as directed, added cream-style corn, shredded cheddar cheese, and pepper jack cheese. I should have reduced the milk, but it was awesome anyway! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunsetBliss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States