Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was a nice savory corn bread, but I actually prefer the 'Savory Corn Bread' from this site more...... Less stuff to put in for that other recipe than for this one, though there is an extra step in mixing in the corn meal for the Savory Corn bread. So either way, the time is similar. All I can say is our particular family prefers the Savory Corn Bread to this one. Thanks for the chance to try something like this, though. It was fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
It came out really moist and delicious and the aroma wonderful very easy and my husband enjoyed Thanks so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I thought this was delicious but my family really does like at least minimal amount of sugar in their cornbread, so I guess I'll stick to those. I poured the batter into the pan then added chopped jalapeno over the top of half for those that don't do spicy in my family. Yummy cornbread IMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Use this all the time. Everyone loves it...we use canned green chiles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is an awesome Jalapeno' cornbread recipe! I've been using the same one for years. I found my on the back of Tenda Bake self-rising cornmeal. You can always make it spicier by adding more peppers. I receive request all the time for this recipe at parties and family funcitons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkaye777

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Excellent twist on an old favorite. Very savory! I prefer to make mine with green onions for more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Made exactly as directed. I will make this one more time with the addition of at least 1/4 cup of white sugar. It does lack taste. To prove that to my husband and myself, I made a simple syrup and poked tiny holes with a scewer all over the cornbread & while it was still warm, poured 1/4 cup of the hot simple syrup over the cornbread. Let it set for a few minutes. Then cut another piece for my husband and he loved it. I tasted it and declared that this was indeed what was missing. (must be the southern yankee in me :-) Thanks very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
We had to eat this bread with a spoon...don't know what I did wrong...this is not the first time I have made cornbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This recipe is a keeper... Easy and delicious. Adding a pound of drained and browned ground beef to the top before putting on the shredded cheese makes it a meal in a skillet.. We like it spicy, so I add Cajun Seasoning, cayenne pepper, and extra diced jalapenos to the ground beef to kick up the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
A word of warning - if you think you have jalapenos in the house, and it turns out you don't, DON't dump in an entire 4-oz can of chopped green chiles as a substitute like I did! The extra moisture meant it had to cook forever... and when it was finally done, it was still much more like spoonbread than cornbread. The flavor was good, so next time I make it, I'll be sure to use actual jalapenos, and I think I'll also use a can of drained corn instead of cream-style, as some other reviewers have done. I like my cornbread a little drier, so hopefully this tweak will do the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States