Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Excellent twist on an old favorite. Very savory! I prefer to make mine with green onions for more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Made exactly as directed. I will make this one more time with the addition of at least 1/4 cup of white sugar. It does lack taste. To prove that to my husband and myself, I made a simple syrup and poked tiny holes with a scewer all over the cornbread & while it was still warm, poured 1/4 cup of the hot simple syrup over the cornbread. Let it set for a few minutes. Then cut another piece for my husband and he loved it. I tasted it and declared that this was indeed what was missing. (must be the southern yankee in me :-) Thanks very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
We had to eat this bread with a spoon...don't know what I did wrong...this is not the first time I have made cornbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This recipe is a keeper... Easy and delicious. Adding a pound of drained and browned ground beef to the top before putting on the shredded cheese makes it a meal in a skillet.. We like it spicy, so I add Cajun Seasoning, cayenne pepper, and extra diced jalapenos to the ground beef to kick up the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
A word of warning - if you think you have jalapenos in the house, and it turns out you don't, DON't dump in an entire 4-oz can of chopped green chiles as a substitute like I did! The extra moisture meant it had to cook forever... and when it was finally done, it was still much more like spoonbread than cornbread. The flavor was good, so next time I make it, I'll be sure to use actual jalapenos, and I think I'll also use a can of drained corn instead of cream-style, as some other reviewers have done. I like my cornbread a little drier, so hopefully this tweak will do the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Awesome corn bread! I doubled the recipe to take this to a themed dinner and it was a huge hit! I omitted the all-purpose flour and just doubled the corn meal so this would be gluten free for a family member with that allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
The first time I made this I forgot the onions. Making it tonight and didn't forget onions. Smells great and looking forward to eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Made this tonight using Aunt Jemima Corn Meal Mix, so I didn't have to add the flour, baking powder, soda and salt. It was really great! I was hesitant to add the cream-style corn as I usually think it's too sweet, but this was perfect. Very moist on the inside and crusty edges. I served it with homemade vegetable soup. I have added it to my favorites and will make it again and again. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNYHO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turrell, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Good recipe. I couldn't find 8 oz can creamed corn so I just used the 14 oz and it turned out great. I also added about 2 tbsp sugar as cornbread should have a little bit of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This cornbread is very tasty. My friends all loved it. However, I had to bake it around 50 minutes and it was still pretty mushy in the center, so allow a little extra time or make it in a larger dish than an 8" square. Also, I'm not a big fan of the cheese on top. Next time, I'll just mix it all together. Also, maybe a little less onion might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States