Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was really good!! I only gave it 4 stars cuz I subbed part of the flour for mesquite flour. This gave it a nice smokey taste and brown color. I forgot to add the peppers & the cheese. It was T G DAY and had way too much stuff going on in the kitchen. To be honest with you, I think I will heat it up in the morning and put pancake syrup on it!! Happy Thanksgiving! ! Thanks Lynn, loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Fantastic recipe!!! I added chorizo to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
A very good cornbread but it was lacking something. I think sugar. I used a little more cheese than recommended and I left the seeds in the jalapenos. I cooked it a good ten minutes longer than the recipe calls for and it still came out surprisingly moist, but not under-cooked so I guess that's just the way it's supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manny
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is good cornbread. It is dense and flavorful with plenty of moistness. I got numerous compliments on it and there were no left overs. It is not sweet so if you like a sweet cornbread just add some sugar as others have recommended. I used a 4 oz. can of roasted jalapenos that I diced up instead of 2 fresh ones since I didn't have any fresh jalapenos in stock. It was not hot. It was flavorful and moist but really no heat. I would have liked a little more heat for my tastes. I don't know if the fresh jalapenos make it very hot but if you want a tasty mild version I can vouch for the Ortega roasted jalapenos in a 4 oz. can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I'd say 1 cup of onion is sufficient for this recipe. I speak from personal experience. That said, I have another cornbread recipe that I rather than this one. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Moist and cheesy : ) I accidentally poured all 1 and 1/2 cups of cheese into the mixture, and it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was a big hit at two different chili dinners (so far)! I use less jalapeno, less onion and a Mexican blend of cheeses instead of just cheddar, but everything else is the same. Nice and moist, very tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Tarzana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Girlfriend..........this recipe ROCKS! My only change was to add more jalapenos (I used seeded fresh but pickled would work fine)!! I had used a recipe in the past that was essentially a "Jiffy-Mix" recipe with additions. My DH doesn't like a "sweet" type of cornbread so I was looking for something else. EUREKA...........this is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This came out awesome!!! I'd never even heard of jalapeno cornbread before a coworkertold me about it and this was just way.beyond my expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was really good! I used a whole can of Mexicorn and left a little cheese for the top to good effect. Two jalepenos is just right if you carefully clean out the seeds and membranes and chop them up fine. I used half of a red onion and it didn't overpower the cornbread taste. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States