Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Just needs a 1/2 cup sugar for sweetness & 4 pc of bacon & the grease... and bobs your uncle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Made this recipe and it is tried and true. always turns out perfect and everybody can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Pretty darn good recipe. I added a full 14oz creamed corn after realizing it only called for an 8oz. Because I like mine sweet, added 1/2c sugar. Sliced fresh jalapenos which were crunchy after cooking which worked great because it was added to a bowl beans and ham. Good dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Nice moist cornbread. Just the way my hubby likes it! I can not buy buttermilk in Ecuador so I used plain yogurt and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I didn't put a onion in it, but the jalapeño was a must! I baked it in an iron skillet on 450 degrees. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I like it but halfed the onion amount and I will make it with some brown sugar or maybe some honey needs a tad bit of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mule.girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Very tasty but it was more like very thick pudding than bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Very dense(my family did not like the consistency)and quite bland even though I used two whole fresh jalapenos, I will stick with my basic cornbread and honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Gave this 5 stars because it is delicious! The only changes I made were that I used about 2 1/2 Tbsp chopped jalepenos from a jar, (not fresh),and increased the corn meal to 1 1/2c. (only because I had just a little tiny bit of cornmeal left, and I wanted to use it up.) Therefore, I increased the creamed corn to 1 1/2c (to make up the extra moisture from the additional corn meal) and, as others had suggested, I mixed all the cheddar into the batter at once. I baked this in a greased 9X9 pan for 30 mins. Served it with honey butter and a bowl of chili. Mama happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runzwitsizrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swisher, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
After reading reviews I used half the corn liquid and added 4 green onions. It does take about 55 mins to cook but is well worth it. I'm giving the recipe to my kids. Can't wait to serve it at the family reunion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsysky1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States