Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Made it exactly as directed and it took waaaaaay over 35 minutes to finish. I would make it again but add an extra 10 minutes at least and I would probably not remove the seed/veins from the jalapenos because it could have used a bit more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libbyslabelx3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Just needs a 1/2 cup sugar for sweetness & 4 pc of bacon & the grease... and bobs your uncle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Made this recipe and it is tried and true. always turns out perfect and everybody can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Pretty darn good recipe. I added a full 14oz creamed corn after realizing it only called for an 8oz. Because I like mine sweet, added 1/2c sugar. Sliced fresh jalapenos which were crunchy after cooking which worked great because it was added to a bowl beans and ham. Good dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Nice moist cornbread. Just the way my hubby likes it! I can not buy buttermilk in Ecuador so I used plain yogurt and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I didn't put a onion in it, but the jalapeño was a must! I baked it in an iron skillet on 450 degrees. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I like it but halfed the onion amount and I will make it with some brown sugar or maybe some honey needs a tad bit of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mule.girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Very tasty but it was more like very thick pudding than bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Very dense(my family did not like the consistency)and quite bland even though I used two whole fresh jalapenos, I will stick with my basic cornbread and honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Gave this 5 stars because it is delicious! The only changes I made were that I used about 2 1/2 Tbsp chopped jalepenos from a jar, (not fresh),and increased the corn meal to 1 1/2c. (only because I had just a little tiny bit of cornmeal left, and I wanted to use it up.) Therefore, I increased the creamed corn to 1 1/2c (to make up the extra moisture from the additional corn meal) and, as others had suggested, I mixed all the cheddar into the batter at once. I baked this in a greased 9X9 pan for 30 mins. Served it with honey butter and a bowl of chili. Mama happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runzwitsizrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swisher, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States