Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I make this cornbread often (and serve it with the vegan black bean soup from this site). I leave out the onion, add a half cup of sugar and mix all the cheese into the batter- just our preference. If you don't have buttermilk normal milk works fine the batter is just a bit thinner so reduce the amount you use. Also, I use fat-free cheddar (kraft pre-shredded) in this recipe. The bread is so moist that you really don't notice you're missing all the fat. One note is that the batter is VERY moist- I cook mine at 400 for an hour or so. It is very soft when it comes out of the oven but will firm up as the cheese cools. Give this one a try- you won't be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
This is wonderful-moist and tasty. The addition of the jalapenos gives it a nice twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This was yummy! It will be my standard corn bread recipe from now on. I used one jalapeno, and it had just the right zing for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Good cornbread. Not as moist as I was expecting, but great taste. I think there was too much onion for us, I'll use half as much next time. I used chopped green chilies for convenience. Mixed all of cheese into batter as we don't care for the cheese topping baked on. Will make regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This dish was just OK. I didn't think it had much zing at all. If I made this again, I would add cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Excellent!!!! My boyfriend loved it. It had a just right amount of spices ane my boyfriend and I both love spicey foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is the best cornbread recipe, esp. Mexican, that I have ever tasted!!! It's easy, fast., fun and most ingredients are on hand.The only thing we changed was using Mexican style corn instead of the cream style. You really should try this, esp. if you are from the South!!! Great with any dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2001
This was great! I loved the addition of onions and chilies! And it was so moist it didn't even need butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This was okay, but not the best. I substituted green chilis for the jalopenos. It was a little mushy so I baked it longer, but the flavor wasn't my favorite. It was a little heavy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Had never made cornbread before, but this was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States