Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I'd say 1 cup of onion is sufficient for this recipe. I speak from personal experience. That said, I have another cornbread recipe that I rather than this one. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Moist and cheesy : ) I accidentally poured all 1 and 1/2 cups of cheese into the mixture, and it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was a big hit at two different chili dinners (so far)! I use less jalapeno, less onion and a Mexican blend of cheeses instead of just cheddar, but everything else is the same. Nice and moist, very tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Tarzana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Girlfriend..........this recipe ROCKS! My only change was to add more jalapenos (I used seeded fresh but pickled would work fine)!! I had used a recipe in the past that was essentially a "Jiffy-Mix" recipe with additions. My DH doesn't like a "sweet" type of cornbread so I was looking for something else. EUREKA...........this is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This came out awesome!!! I'd never even heard of jalapeno cornbread before a coworkertold me about it and this was just way.beyond my expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was really good! I used a whole can of Mexicorn and left a little cheese for the top to good effect. Two jalepenos is just right if you carefully clean out the seeds and membranes and chop them up fine. I used half of a red onion and it didn't overpower the cornbread taste. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was a nice savory corn bread, but I actually prefer the 'Savory Corn Bread' from this site more...... Less stuff to put in for that other recipe than for this one, though there is an extra step in mixing in the corn meal for the Savory Corn bread. So either way, the time is similar. All I can say is our particular family prefers the Savory Corn Bread to this one. Thanks for the chance to try something like this, though. It was fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
It came out really moist and delicious and the aroma wonderful very easy and my husband enjoyed Thanks so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I thought this was delicious but my family really does like at least minimal amount of sugar in their cornbread, so I guess I'll stick to those. I poured the batter into the pan then added chopped jalapeno over the top of half for those that don't do spicy in my family. Yummy cornbread IMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Use this all the time. Everyone loves it...we use canned green chiles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States