Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Wow. Just had this with vegetable soup. It was great! susie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Great recipe. My mods: upped to 3/4 flour to give a little more body. Added small can of green chilis and two chopped sarrento peppers. Definitely seed the jalapenos to get flavor without too much heat. Added a little garlic. I used both a can of (no salt added) kernal corn and a can of (no salt added) cream-style. Need to bake about 45-50 minutes to get nice crust on top. Also I recommend using the coarsest cornmeal you can get; I used polenta meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was really good!! I only gave it 4 stars cuz I subbed part of the flour for mesquite flour. This gave it a nice smokey taste and brown color. I forgot to add the peppers & the cheese. It was T G DAY and had way too much stuff going on in the kitchen. To be honest with you, I think I will heat it up in the morning and put pancake syrup on it!! Happy Thanksgiving! ! Thanks Lynn, loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Fantastic recipe!!! I added chorizo to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
A very good cornbread but it was lacking something. I think sugar. I used a little more cheese than recommended and I left the seeds in the jalapenos. I cooked it a good ten minutes longer than the recipe calls for and it still came out surprisingly moist, but not under-cooked so I guess that's just the way it's supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manny
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is good cornbread. It is dense and flavorful with plenty of moistness. I got numerous compliments on it and there were no left overs. It is not sweet so if you like a sweet cornbread just add some sugar as others have recommended. I used a 4 oz. can of roasted jalapenos that I diced up instead of 2 fresh ones since I didn't have any fresh jalapenos in stock. It was not hot. It was flavorful and moist but really no heat. I would have liked a little more heat for my tastes. I don't know if the fresh jalapenos make it very hot but if you want a tasty mild version I can vouch for the Ortega roasted jalapenos in a 4 oz. can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I'd say 1 cup of onion is sufficient for this recipe. I speak from personal experience. That said, I have another cornbread recipe that I rather than this one. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Moist and cheesy : ) I accidentally poured all 1 and 1/2 cups of cheese into the mixture, and it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was a big hit at two different chili dinners (so far)! I use less jalapeno, less onion and a Mexican blend of cheeses instead of just cheddar, but everything else is the same. Nice and moist, very tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Tarzana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Girlfriend..........this recipe ROCKS! My only change was to add more jalapenos (I used seeded fresh but pickled would work fine)!! I had used a recipe in the past that was essentially a "Jiffy-Mix" recipe with additions. My DH doesn't like a "sweet" type of cornbread so I was looking for something else. EUREKA...........this is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States