Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
My family LOVED this recipe with a spicy bowl of venison chili. I did make a few alterations: I omitted the onion, and instead of fresh jalapenos, I used canned green chiles. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Excellent recipe. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I did tweak it a little. I added more cheese, 1/4 cup more flour and used a dried jalepeno rather than fresh. I also threw in a sprinkling of cayenne pepper (1/8 tsp) as my father likes his cornbread spicy!! The texture and flavor were VERY VERY good. Will definitely add this to my "must make again" pile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I love this recipe, it is great with chili. I sometimes add browned, drained ground beef into mine, and the family loves it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I thought this was really good. My husband wasn't to thrilled with it. He thinks of mexican corn cake being a little sweeter than this recipe So with my own rating of 4-5 stars and his a 1 star I rated it 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Craig
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This is a great recipe that I used for Thanksgiving dinner. All my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I thought this was gorgeous! It's very crumbly when it's warm and the next day it is really lovely too. The cheese and onion really add something extra. Recommend 100%!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hull, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I had high hopes for this recipe but wasn't too happy with it. It could use something to sweeten it up perhaps. I still haven't found the perfect cornbread recipe and I'll keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I added 1/3 c. sugar and used light cheddar cheese, making this a hearty, yet lower fat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
I wanted a more tradional cornbread so didn't add the jalepenos, onion or cheese. I added 1/2 cup sugar. I suppose with all those changes I don't have a right to review it, but here goes. :) We didn't like the "pop" of corn as we ate it. I tried creamstyle & liked it better. My nonvegetable eater kid didn't know it was there with creamstyle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This was a good and easy recipe. Next time I will not seed the peppers, as I would like it a little spicier. My husband and I both really liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States