Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Had never made cornbread before, but this was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
I was really impressed with this bread. Don't worry about the spiciness of the jalapenos, the cheddar cheese cools it down nicely. This reheats really well, all of my friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2001
This was great! I loved the addition of onions and chilies! And it was so moist it didn't even need butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
This is wonderful-moist and tasty. The addition of the jalapenos gives it a nice twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This was yummy! It will be my standard corn bread recipe from now on. I used one jalapeno, and it had just the right zing for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Excellent!!!! My boyfriend loved it. It had a just right amount of spices ane my boyfriend and I both love spicey foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is the best cornbread recipe, esp. Mexican, that I have ever tasted!!! It's easy, fast., fun and most ingredients are on hand.The only thing we changed was using Mexican style corn instead of the cream style. You really should try this, esp. if you are from the South!!! Great with any dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Good recipe Lynn, thanks. I used the recipe as stated. I chose a large walla walla sweet onion and I did use the two jalapenos sliced but not seeded. I love the spark of the peppers. I didn't have buttermilk on hand so I used sweet milk with vinegar (an old way of doing). White corn meal and cream corn. I didn't care that it didn't hold together like traditional bread. I took it to a potluck and put it out like a side dish. I warned those who don't care for spicy foods but only one person chose not to try it. Everyone loved it just the way it was. Sugar? Most old cornbread recipes do not call for sugar. Never thought of it as an ingredient. Most asked for the recipe. This is going in my cookbook I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I make this cornbread often (and serve it with the vegan black bean soup from this site). I leave out the onion, add a half cup of sugar and mix all the cheese into the batter- just our preference. If you don't have buttermilk normal milk works fine the batter is just a bit thinner so reduce the amount you use. Also, I use fat-free cheddar (kraft pre-shredded) in this recipe. The bread is so moist that you really don't notice you're missing all the fat. One note is that the batter is VERY moist- I cook mine at 400 for an hour or so. It is very soft when it comes out of the oven but will firm up as the cheese cools. Give this one a try- you won't be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
I tried this before serving at a Fiesta planned this summer - the recipe is great!! My family enjoyed it just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States