Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I make this cornbread often (and serve it with the vegan black bean soup from this site). I leave out the onion, add a half cup of sugar and mix all the cheese into the batter- just our preference. If you don't have buttermilk normal milk works fine the batter is just a bit thinner so reduce the amount you use. Also, I use fat-free cheddar (kraft pre-shredded) in this recipe. The bread is so moist that you really don't notice you're missing all the fat. One note is that the batter is VERY moist- I cook mine at 400 for an hour or so. It is very soft when it comes out of the oven but will firm up as the cheese cools. Give this one a try- you won't be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
This is wonderful-moist and tasty. The addition of the jalapenos gives it a nice twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This was yummy! It will be my standard corn bread recipe from now on. I used one jalapeno, and it had just the right zing for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Good cornbread. Not as moist as I was expecting, but great taste. I think there was too much onion for us, I'll use half as much next time. I used chopped green chilies for convenience. Mixed all of cheese into batter as we don't care for the cheese topping baked on. Will make regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This dish was just OK. I didn't think it had much zing at all. If I made this again, I would add cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Excellent!!!! My boyfriend loved it. It had a just right amount of spices ane my boyfriend and I both love spicey foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is the best cornbread recipe, esp. Mexican, that I have ever tasted!!! It's easy, fast., fun and most ingredients are on hand.The only thing we changed was using Mexican style corn instead of the cream style. You really should try this, esp. if you are from the South!!! Great with any dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2001
This was great! I loved the addition of onions and chilies! And it was so moist it didn't even need butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This was okay, but not the best. I substituted green chilis for the jalopenos. It was a little mushy so I baked it longer, but the flavor wasn't my favorite. It was a little heavy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I used butter instead of corn oil and I used a couple tablespoons of mild chilies from the can only because I don't keep jalapeno peppers on hand and I really didn't want it to be too spicy for the little ones. In my cast iron skillet, mine was done at just under 35 minutes. I took a tip from a girlfriend of mine and melted butter in the skillet in the hot oven before adding the cornbread batter for a buttery, crispy crust. We all liked this a lot. The flavor of this cornbread was wonderful. I'd like to try this next time with Mexi-Corn and see how that is in this recipe. I think it would be good with pepper-jack, too. Making it in the cast iron I think is what made it SO good. But, isn't almost anything made in cast iron good? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States