Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made this and took it to our huge 4th of July Shrimp and Sausage boil. It wasn't too spicy, but still had a kick, and it was almost melt in your mouth. My granddad even said it was the best cornbread he's ever eaten! I doubled the recipe, so it obviously took longer in the oven. Next time I might try and put bell peppers in too, so it will have more colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Truly a Tex-Mex Cornbread, for the milk, I used 3/4 cup sour cream, 1/4 cup milk, also added red chili peppers, put half the batter in pan ,(I warmed on the stovetop with a stick of butter), then the cheese, then rest of batter. Into the hot oven. Was out of corn, or I would have added that too. As for chilis, "the more you eat, the more you want to eat".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Great recipe. I only had frozen pepper and corn on hand and it worked great. If you use frozen corn be sure to strain any liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Now this is the authentic recipe for Mexican cornbread. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I loved this. I did, however, change it due to lack of ingredients. I am diabetic so instead of all purpose flour I used wheat. I didn't have baking powder and used 21/2teasspoons of baking soda. I didn't have buttermilk and used skimmed. Had no cream corn and used regular Kroger can corn. Instead of corn oil I had 1/2 c of real butter on had. I also added about 1/4c sugar because we like sweet. I prayed it would turn out due to being out of Jiffy. LOL I was amazed. It was delicious. I used all the other ingredients except Jalapeno peppers. Didn't have any. When it all came out it tasted like Chi Chi's cornbread they use to give on the side. It was delicious. Next time I will add a little more sugar for that reall Chi Chi taste. I can't say this was a diabetic recipe, but it turned out great. Loved the onion and had a big pot of beans waiting on the side. Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyvelvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Delicious!!!!! Too much onions needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe and very close to my great grandmothers. Use bacon grease for more flavor!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I made this just as recipe lists and it was fantastic! I think the reviews that listed it didn't set up or it was too moist or too much for the pan may not have followed it exactly. I looked high and low for an 8 ounce can of creamed corn and was only able to find 15 ounce cans, and if I had added it all it would not have come out right. I felt like this was a nice compromise between my husband who likes cornbread and myself who likes corn casseroles--not to plain, not to casseroly. All in all, its an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Great recipe! For more color, add some diced red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This did not turn out at all like "cornbread". First I had to use a larger pan than called for and bake twice as long. It was very moist, like a corn-cassarole. Tasted ok, probably will not make this again. Oh, and it did not look like the picture at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States