Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Great recipe, easy to adjust too. I have made it several times, with 2% milk, 2 cups of cheddar cheese in the mix, and half a can of mexicorn, without jalapenos or chilies. Came out fantastic, with great pepper taste without the heat (kid friendly!). I have also made it adding chopped ham. It's one of my family favorite sides to have whenever we barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I think the cornbread had a very good taste. It is a very moist cornbread but I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Karr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is soooo good! I have made it several times, and it always is a huge hit. We never have buttermilk, so I put a tablespoon of vinegar in a cup of regular milk, and it turns out great. What a super, awesome recipe! I actually made it with regular corn, since I was out of creamed corn, and it still was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I did not adjust this recipe at all and it turned out great. I put it in my recipe box and will make it again for Thanksgiving; However, I wouldn't give this cook credit for coming up with this recipe. I found one 15 years ago on some cornmeal bag and thought it was delicious and wanted to make it again. This recipe has identical ingredients. But I'm glad it's here because I really needed the measurements. Thanks for reiterating a classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I made this recipe with home chili beans and my family loooovvveeed it. I will keep this in my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
this is a sensational recipe! Everyone has me whipping them up a batch now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made this and took it to our huge 4th of July Shrimp and Sausage boil. It wasn't too spicy, but still had a kick, and it was almost melt in your mouth. My granddad even said it was the best cornbread he's ever eaten! I doubled the recipe, so it obviously took longer in the oven. Next time I might try and put bell peppers in too, so it will have more colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Truly a Tex-Mex Cornbread, for the milk, I used 3/4 cup sour cream, 1/4 cup milk, also added red chili peppers, put half the batter in pan ,(I warmed on the stovetop with a stick of butter), then the cheese, then rest of batter. Into the hot oven. Was out of corn, or I would have added that too. As for chilis, "the more you eat, the more you want to eat".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Great recipe. I only had frozen pepper and corn on hand and it worked great. If you use frozen corn be sure to strain any liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Now this is the authentic recipe for Mexican cornbread. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States