Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Catkin
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is my second try at a cornbread recipe from Allrecipes. This particular one is by far my favourite. It turned out slightly soggy, probably due to difficulties in getting precise measurements on my metric scales, and the fact that I added more creamed corn! Nevertheless it was delicious. I did not have fresh jalapenos so used some in brine. I also added some cayenne pepper which gave the cornbread a lovely kick. I will be making this again and will probably double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I did not like this at all, it was very mushy and not like cornbread at all, it was more like a spoonbread, which I don't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
made this for the first time last night, made exactly by the recipe EXCEPT I had no buttermilk so I used 3/4 cup 2% milk and I was out of jalapeno so I jut omitted it, will use it next time. My husband and son said this was the best cornbread ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Awesome! My favorite Mexican cornbread ever. I always make this with a big pot of beans. We all love it. Cooks slower in my oven (more like an hour), but other than that didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I didn't have most of the ingredients, so I used this recipe as my base. I had a box of cornbread mix, made it as directed, added cream-style corn, shredded cheddar cheese, and pepper jack cheese. I should have reduced the milk, but it was awesome anyway! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunsetBliss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
My family seemed to love this dish, but I'm much more fond of a sweet cornbread. This is not sweet at all. I used 3/4c. low-fat milk instead of 1c buttermilk. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
this is a real good cornbread. We left out the hot stuff cuz we don't like to hurt while we eat. The only thing in our opinion is it would be better if it was sweet. However less sweet can be more depending on what you are serving it with. I served this with salmon Fillets with Creamy Dill, Our family cole slaw and french fries. Don't forget to refrigerate leftovers. we forgot and had to pitch 1/2 the cornbread this morning. :( If you have vegetables or meat in cornbread you have to refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
all i can say is yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I am not sure what is going on with this recipe. Firts time I made it , it was great the last 3 times it was mush. Following the recipe to a T. Even after cooking it for and hr and a half it was still mush. I even called the service man out to look at my oven! Just cant figure it out. I will be moving on to another recipe as the ingredients are getting too costly to throw down the garbage disposal. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Not much flavor. There are much better recipes out there. Was way too mushy even after 40 minutes of baking. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THURLEY54

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States