Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I am not sure what is going on with this recipe. Firts time I made it , it was great the last 3 times it was mush. Following the recipe to a T. Even after cooking it for and hr and a half it was still mush. I even called the service man out to look at my oven! Just cant figure it out. I will be moving on to another recipe as the ingredients are getting too costly to throw down the garbage disposal. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Not much flavor. There are much better recipes out there. Was way too mushy even after 40 minutes of baking. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THURLEY54

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
we LOVE this corn bread started making IT for my family,about 6 mos. ago and they keep asking for me to make more ..GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lovington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This cornbread was very moist, which I loved! The jalapenos and onions provided a nice blend of spice and texture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
My first attempt at mexican style cornbread and it turned out awesome! I used white cornmeal, wasn't sure what kind to get and left out the onion. The baking time was right on for me too. The bread was perfectly moist and I forgot to add the cheese at the end on the top, but I was really pleased anyway. My family loved the bread! I can't imagine making any mexican dish from now on without it. Thanks for such a simple and wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Wow, great recipe. I made some changes that made it perfect for our southern taste - minced 1/2 onion, 3 peppers, pinch of cumin, 1T sugar, whole kernel corn, mixed all of cheese in batter. Cooked on 325 for 50-60 min. Cooking slower, longer seems to distribute the wonderful flavor as does mincing vegs. Thanks for the best mexican cornbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Thank you! this is the best cornbread I've ever made and I've made a few over the years. It was moist inside and crispy outside. This one will be made again very soon at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
My family really loved this - moist and delicious. Great with chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I made this recipes yesterday, made enough for 2 8 inch square pans, to take to a lunch I did for the guys at our local armory. The cornbread was the HIT! Will be making me another one today to go with the rest of the BBQ I made. I will also be trying it with green chilies instead of the peppers. I used a 1/2 can of chopped peppers btw, didn't buy whole peppers and cut them up. Can't do that with my contacts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I tried this recipe and also added 1/2 cup of sugar and cayenne pepper but I omitted the butter milk for regular milk and mixed all the cheddar cheese in the batter instead 1/2 on top, it turned out GREAT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States