Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This cornbread is very tasty. My friends all loved it. However, I had to bake it around 50 minutes and it was still pretty mushy in the center, so allow a little extra time or make it in a larger dish than an 8" square. Also, I'm not a big fan of the cheese on top. Next time, I'll just mix it all together. Also, maybe a little less onion might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
4.5 Stars: I left out the onion and used onion powder. My husband thought it needed more jalapeno heat, so I plan to use jarred and not dice them as fine the next time. It was super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Absolutely THE best recipe for Mexican Corn Bread I have EVER tried. I had to substitute whole white corn, powdered buttermilk, and nacho style jalapeno slices.....AND IT WAS AWESOME!!! I worried a little that without the creamed corn it might not be creamy enough, so I added some Brummel and Brown. Even my picky 12 yeard old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great recipe, the best I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OMRAINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Use full amount of chilli. Good next day warmed in oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaumont, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is a great recipe and almost identical to the way I make mexican cornbread. My version is simplified though, I use 2 boxes of premixed cornbread mix instead of having to measure out the dry ingredients and I use canned jalapenos instead of fresh. If I don't have cream corn, a can of regular corn, drained, works as well but I have also used frozen corn which gives it a fresher, crispier result. Overall, very yummy which ever way you decide to make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug06445

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I did fiddle with the recipe a bit. As I had no buttermilk, I soured a cup of milk with a little lemon juice. Also, I used canned green chiles instead of fresh jalapenos. I preheated my cast iron frying pan, put a bit of oil in the bottom, then poured the batter in, so I got a lovely, crunchy bottom crust. This was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
If you don't have buttermilk, just stir a Tablespoon of either lemon juice OR vinegar into regular milk and let it sit a few minutes. You will get that same thick, tangy effect that buttermilk gives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I used butter instead of corn oil and I used a couple tablespoons of mild chilies from the can only because I don't keep jalapeno peppers on hand and I really didn't want it to be too spicy for the little ones. In my cast iron skillet, mine was done at just under 35 minutes. I took a tip from a girlfriend of mine and melted butter in the skillet in the hot oven before adding the cornbread batter for a buttery, crispy crust. We all liked this a lot. The flavor of this cornbread was wonderful. I'd like to try this next time with Mexi-Corn and see how that is in this recipe. I think it would be good with pepper-jack, too. Making it in the cast iron I think is what made it SO good. But, isn't almost anything made in cast iron good? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous cornbread to go with a Mexican meal or anytime you want a little kick to your cornbread. We have always loved the cornbread served hot in a cast iron skillet at a restaurant that we enjoy when we visit Scottsdale, AZ and this comes as close to it as any recipe I have ever tried. I did not want the onion flavor to predominate so I used a medium onion and realized at the last moment that the cornbread at the restaurant has a touch of sweetness so I added about 1/3 cup of sugar. I decided to add all the cheese to the batter because I just wasn’t sure about the cheese crust and wanting it to brown and crisp nicely I upped the temperature to 375 degrees. It took about 45 minutes to be perfectly browned, moist and scrumptious. I believe that baking the cornbread in a cast iron skillet makes a huge difference and if you do not have one it would be worth purchasing one for this recipe alone. Paired with Easy Chicken Fajita Soup and Avocado-Corn Salad with Creamy Salsa Dressing, both from this site, it made for a very satisfying meal, with six of us having no problem whatsoever finishing off the entire pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States