Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
A word of warning - if you think you have jalapenos in the house, and it turns out you don't, DON't dump in an entire 4-oz can of chopped green chiles as a substitute like I did! The extra moisture meant it had to cook forever... and when it was finally done, it was still much more like spoonbread than cornbread. The flavor was good, so next time I make it, I'll be sure to use actual jalapenos, and I think I'll also use a can of drained corn instead of cream-style, as some other reviewers have done. I like my cornbread a little drier, so hopefully this tweak will do the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Awesome corn bread! I doubled the recipe to take this to a themed dinner and it was a huge hit! I omitted the all-purpose flour and just doubled the corn meal so this would be gluten free for a family member with that allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
The first time I made this I forgot the onions. Making it tonight and didn't forget onions. Smells great and looking forward to eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Made this tonight using Aunt Jemima Corn Meal Mix, so I didn't have to add the flour, baking powder, soda and salt. It was really great! I was hesitant to add the cream-style corn as I usually think it's too sweet, but this was perfect. Very moist on the inside and crusty edges. I served it with homemade vegetable soup. I have added it to my favorites and will make it again and again. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNYHO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turrell, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Good recipe. I couldn't find 8 oz can creamed corn so I just used the 14 oz and it turned out great. I also added about 2 tbsp sugar as cornbread should have a little bit of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This cornbread is very tasty. My friends all loved it. However, I had to bake it around 50 minutes and it was still pretty mushy in the center, so allow a little extra time or make it in a larger dish than an 8" square. Also, I'm not a big fan of the cheese on top. Next time, I'll just mix it all together. Also, maybe a little less onion might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
4.5 Stars: I left out the onion and used onion powder. My husband thought it needed more jalapeno heat, so I plan to use jarred and not dice them as fine the next time. It was super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Absolutely THE best recipe for Mexican Corn Bread I have EVER tried. I had to substitute whole white corn, powdered buttermilk, and nacho style jalapeno slices.....AND IT WAS AWESOME!!! I worried a little that without the creamed corn it might not be creamy enough, so I added some Brummel and Brown. Even my picky 12 yeard old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great recipe, the best I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OMRAINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Use full amount of chilli. Good next day warmed in oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaumont, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States