Mexican Style Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Made this for my husband and two of his friends... They LOVED it, ate the whole skillet in one sitting! We're currently in the UK and I couldn't find buttermilk so I used 1tbsp of vinegar in a 1 cup measure, filled the rest of the cup with milk, let sit for a couple minutes before using. Also couldn't find creamed corn, so I used some frozen corn instead. Finally found cornmeal here under the label "maize meal" in a health food store... A finer grain than polenta, which is like yellow corn meal and also found in health food stores here. Well worth the trouble! Simple to make, everyone loved it! Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StyleGal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I loved this cornbread! It smelled so delicious cooking and was very most and yummy. The only thing I changed was that I used coconut oil instead of corn oil and dehydrated onions instead of fresh. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
My family really enjoyed this. It was good, but I felt it was just missing something, and I can't put my finger on what it is. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Wow. Just had this with vegetable soup. It was great! susie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Great recipe. My mods: upped to 3/4 flour to give a little more body. Added small can of green chilis and two chopped sarrento peppers. Definitely seed the jalapenos to get flavor without too much heat. Added a little garlic. I used both a can of (no salt added) kernal corn and a can of (no salt added) cream-style. Need to bake about 45-50 minutes to get nice crust on top. Also I recommend using the coarsest cornmeal you can get; I used polenta meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was really good!! I only gave it 4 stars cuz I subbed part of the flour for mesquite flour. This gave it a nice smokey taste and brown color. I forgot to add the peppers & the cheese. It was T G DAY and had way too much stuff going on in the kitchen. To be honest with you, I think I will heat it up in the morning and put pancake syrup on it!! Happy Thanksgiving! ! Thanks Lynn, loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Fantastic recipe!!! I added chorizo to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
A very good cornbread but it was lacking something. I think sugar. I used a little more cheese than recommended and I left the seeds in the jalapenos. I cooked it a good ten minutes longer than the recipe calls for and it still came out surprisingly moist, but not under-cooked so I guess that's just the way it's supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manny
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is good cornbread. It is dense and flavorful with plenty of moistness. I got numerous compliments on it and there were no left overs. It is not sweet so if you like a sweet cornbread just add some sugar as others have recommended. I used a 4 oz. can of roasted jalapenos that I diced up instead of 2 fresh ones since I didn't have any fresh jalapenos in stock. It was not hot. It was flavorful and moist but really no heat. I would have liked a little more heat for my tastes. I don't know if the fresh jalapenos make it very hot but if you want a tasty mild version I can vouch for the Ortega roasted jalapenos in a 4 oz. can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I'd say 1 cup of onion is sufficient for this recipe. I speak from personal experience. That said, I have another cornbread recipe that I rather than this one. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States