Mexican Style Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Lip smacking goodness. Great to use on corn past it's prime that needs some "wake me up spunk". Don't worry, you don't taste the mayo - it's just a vehicle to get the goodies to stick to the corn. Don't really need the butter either, there's plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This was fun and good. Like others, I used real butter and mixed it along w/ the parmesean and mayo and chili powder and a bit of sea salt. After boiling, I rolled each ear in it, and put it on the grill for a couple of minutes. I'm a bit confused about that part, bc I found this recipe in the Allrecipes magazine, and it's called Grilled Corn in one section and Mexican-Style corn in another...and the recipe never directs you to put the corn on the grill. Other reviewers mentioned grilling at the end though, so I did since I had it on anyway. We squirted lime juice on just before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I enjoyed this....my oldest son said "its okay but I feel like I am missing my traditional corn on the cob", mom liked it. We used Mexican chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Wow this corn packs a lot of flavour and is the best I have had! Yummy! I use chipotle chili powder and usually boil the ears a bit first before rolling them in the sauce, then I place them directly on the grill until slightly blackened. You can use a brush to keep basting them. You can't beat this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tannis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This recipe is delicious. I have made it the exact way the directions specifies and I have also made a it with a few personal additions. First I bring the butter to room temperature until it is softened. I then combine together the mayo, butter and parmesan cheese. Then I mince cilantro and add that in, along with some sea salt. Once the corn comes off the grill I roll each ear in this mixture. The cilantro really gives this corn the punch you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Excellent, everyone enjoyed this simple to make but absolutely delicious Mexican style corn. We buttered it prior to putting the mayonnaise on it, using real butter as we do not use imitation foods. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This was a hit here. I used frozen ears of corn and boiled htem according to package directions then I mixed the unsalted real butter, light mayo, dry grated parmesan, and chili powder together and added a pinch of salt to it. My husband really liked this corn recipe enough to comment and have seconds! Thanks for posting this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Two of my grandson's first words were "CORN MAN" - he loves this corn to this day. I usually like to roast the corn in the husks - today I microwaved them in the husk - 2 minutes and flip and then 2 more minutes. Cut off the bottom of the cob and using a kitchen towel squeeze the small end. The corn slides out without a single piece of silk. The butter / mayonnaise along with the cheese form a perfect crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I have been eating and serving this corn for years. The way it is done here is basically the same except the corn is roasted on the grill and dipped in butter first. This corn is soo good. You do not taste the mayonnaise like it is. It melts together with the cheese, butter and chili powder and creates this totally different flavor. We also make this with frozen or canned corn when fresh corn is not available. Just adjust the amounts of ingredients to taste. Don't forget to drain the corn completely first. Happy Eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States