Mexican Street Vendor Style Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Just had this. Great flavor combo. I altered the construction in that I layered the mayo, then cheese, and lastly hot sauce (instead of ground red pepper) on top of the seasoned corn. Didn't miss the butter. Also made this flavor combo using stove top cooked corn on the cob, rolling the cob in mayo (just enough sticks) then sprinkle on the cheese and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made this recipe for a friends Mexican pot-luck night and it was great. I could not find Cotija cheese so I used grated Minas cheese instead and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Good corn recipe, very easy. Only problem that I had was that the cheese melted and clumped together, so it did not lend too much flavor. Next time I will just pass the cheese around for everyone to top their corn with, and I will cut back just a tad on the lime juice, I did use the full 2 tablespoons, next time I'll try 1 1/2 tablespoons. I added about 1 tablespoon of chopped cilantro as well because I love cilantro. I served this with grilled steaks, the liquid from the corn ran onto the steaks, and my wife loved the combination of the sauce and the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is sooooo good I made it two nights in a row! I used frozen corn (personal preference) however this recipe only served 3. Loved the lime juice. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
YUM. This was so delicious. It was perfect with the cilantro lime rice I served as another side. I used a generous pinch of cayenne pepper and I could have used 2 and it would have been more to my liking. Overall a wonderful light refreshing dish and so different from the traditional Tex-mex sides I am used to. I'll definitely be fixing this again! I can't wait to try this with grilled corn next. Thanks for a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Love it. It's easy to make and very satisfying. I'm going to try it with fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I used grated parmesan instead of cotija. A different cheese wouldn't have saved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sharonah
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Awesome recipe. I used the ingredients in the recipe, but the proportions were all according to my taste. I used 2 cans of corn, but I also cooked 4 ears of white corn to add a little extra freshness/sweetness to the dish. The butter, mayo, lime juice, cheese, chili, and cilantro were all adjusted to my taste. I think this is a great general guideline recipe, and everyone LOVED the dish tonight! No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I've been craving this ever since I made it last week! It was so easy and my boyfriend loved it. He said it was so rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CooperCook
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
So good! I would like to try it with fresh corn, but it was so easy with canned and still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States