Mexican Strawberry Water (Agua de Fresa) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I wasn't expecting much from this recipe, just flavored water. However, it's really refreshing and definitely needs to sit overnight to develop the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I'm Mexican and I grew up drinking this delicious aguas frescas.My whole fam. loved this drink, definately we'll make it again during the summer. The possibilitys are endless instead of strawberries you can use cantaloupe,watermelon, papayas etc,. even mangos. Yummy! My only changes: Didn't have time to put it in the refrigerator and wait 4 hrs. so I just put it in the blender and made it in two batches, used Splenda insted of reg. sugar and didn't strained like the recipe states.But I'm sure the original recipe is as delicious with no changes. It's just my personal preference. Thanks for sumitting your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is sooo good. I've seen these drinks in big pitchers in Mexico but been afraid to order due to not wanting to drink the water. It was very easy to make. Very light, refreshing I didn't change a thing. Will definetly make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Very pretty and refreshing alternative to lemonade and perfect for the upcoming strawberry and summer season. Hubs especially appreciated this to grab from the fridge rather than his usuall Fresca. Since I don't drink sugary drinks I'd be curious to try this with a sugar substitute to see how it compares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and it was just what I was looking for! I love this stuff. I can't wait to make it again! Good with a splash of club soda, too, if you want it a little fizzy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I messed up on the cup count for water and ended up using about half the amount. I cut the sugar by one half. I can see that it would be a perfect refreshing drink on a hot day and even with half the water it was amazing. Will be maing this again tomorrow. I didn't bother to slice the fruit since my blender was adequate for the job of pureeing.I also plan to use this method with the abundnace of watermelon that I have. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Add BACARDI to this recipe. Very good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed this. To me this was very light, refreshing. Not sweet or tart. Most bottled waters with the essence of fruit flavors are really tart and don't actually have very good flavor. This did for me. I think after I sliced up all the strawberries it worked out of 2 1 pound containers about 4 1/2 to 5 cups of strawberries, so I used them all in this. You could probably make it sweeter in the step that you add the 7 cups of water but I didn't. We enjoyed. Thank you soo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Yes, my family makes this recipe and we like it. At first glance you can think this is just a little flavored water, but aqua de fresa is rich and delicious. We put mint leaves and lime juice in the drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was okay. I don't think I'll spend all that time cutting the fruit for this though. Good, but not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshineTeam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States