Mexican Strawberry Water (Agua de Fresa) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This was one of my favorite beverages when I lived in Guadalajara! We'd make it the night before and drink it with breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Turned out great. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilroy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Delicious and refreshing!! I made this the night before our party (for Cinco de Mayo) - using 1/2 the sugar (1/2 cup) - and it was fabulous! I wouldn't have thought it would taste so "strawberry-y" but it did after it was in the refrigerator overnight. The day of our party, I added in the remaining water and some mint (decided to leave out the lime) as well as slices of strawberries and all of us RAVED about this light and refreshing drink! Personally, I thought the 1/2 cup of sugar to 4 cups strawberries was plenty sweet and so did several other people but a couple of my friends (who tend to like foods sweeter), added in more sugar at the table. I blended mine and served it without straining it. I love the pieces (though honestly, there were hardly any pieces since our blender does a great job at blending everything). It turned out frothy and sort of thick which was nice. I pictured water with chunks of strawberries, no flavor and disappointment but it was completely the opposite!! I will be making this recipe for my children on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
A great change from just plain water. The only thing I did was put in half the sugar. I tried one glass with just the strawberry water and another with a slice of lime in it. I prefer the lime in it. It adds a nice twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is something new to me. I thought this was very good. The only thing is, because I did not have fresh limes and mint sprigs, I had to improvise by using mint extract and lime juice in place of these ingredients. The mint extract brings out the flavor in this beverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Just as i remembered it, but my Mexican friends use to let the mixture ferment a little before diluting it and adding the ice. It was truly delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Great hit for my monthly family dinner!!! For a adult kick I added some coconut rum to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Robinson Burger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Hephzibah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was definitely a refreshing drink! I made this for the kids for a Mexican theme potluck. It was the first drink to go. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyOfMarine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Add BACARDI to this recipe. Very good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Oh my, this recipe is a must try! I've tried making fruit water without much success and clearly letting it sit long enough is the key. What a refreshing treat on a hot summer day and when strawberries are in season. I reduced the sugar to 1/2c, as others mentioned and it was sweet enough for our taste. I was getting impatient at how long it took to strain so I just poured the remaining 7 cups water through the strainer to get every last strawberry flavoured morsel. There was only a small spoonful of seeds left, so I definitely recommend straining it to get that wonderful smooth taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States