Mexican Spaghetti Squash Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made this tonight and it was absolutely fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly except I did not have tomato sauce on hand. I used a 6 oz can of tomato paste to with 1 cup water and Italian seasonings and used all of it. I had a couple of moments of confusion - the "1 cube of chicken bullion" should read 1 cup of chicken broth as you need the liquid and could use actual broth or cube or granules to make broth. The other was that you really want to start the turkey mixture before the squash is ready or your squash will get cool. Excellent taste and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Enjoyed this very much. Put a dollop of sour cream and that took it to another delicious level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Pfeifle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
this was pretty tasty but a little on the salty side and that was with leaving out the seasoned salt like STARDUST_331 did.. i used this as a topping over baked potatoes and also as a filling for lettuce wraps.. i used a little less garlic (2 tsp) and doubled the cumin.. my tomato sauce was in an 8oz can so just used that.. bf said it was kind of like a mexican sloppy joe.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I didn't have spaghetti squash, (used rice instead) but I think you'd need two with the amount this makes. Easily fed 6 of us with left overs. I added shredded zucchini and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This is like a Mexican spaghetti sauce! I did add more tomato sauce to get that consistency. Makes a great meal. I dolloped a little sour cream on top. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Thought it was good. I added some corn. Like others said, could use meat mixture on other things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This was great. I added corn and used veggie crumbles in place of the meat and it was very hearty. we topped it with a bit of cheese and sour cream, and fresh diced tomoatoes. really good, but didn't seem to pair as well with the spaghetti squash as I would have hoped. it would make a fantastic chili with some added diced tomatoes and a bit of vegetable or chicken stock. would also make a delicious nachos topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I thought it was awesome! I was a little leary at first but the flavors and textures worked so well together! I will make again and probably soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Really enjoyed this - the flavor is so good! The hubby branded it an 'instant classic'. Followed the recipe almost exactly (drained and rinsed the black beans which was not specified in the recipe. Glad we did.) Threw in the entire can (15 oz) of tomato sauce so we wouldn't be stuck with a half can. Also left out the seasoned salt completely after tasting it first - it didn't need it, it was plenty salty. Loved the sundried tomatoes in this even though I thought I would hate it, and I hate black beans but can barely notice it here. Also read a cool trick for spaghetti squash - cut it in half, scoop out the seeds, add half a cup of water and place the other half back on it. Microwave 12 minutes for a pound - if the top half is soft when it comes out, it's done. Otherwise, put it back in for a few more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I was pleased to find a recipe alternative to the traditional spaghetti squash with spaghetti sauce! This mixture could be put on anything - tortillas, taco shells, rice, lettuce - which is a good thing, because the recipe makes way too much "topping" for one spaghetti squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States