Mexican Sour Cream Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
made this 4 times with adjustments each time & finally this rocks! guests loved it each time but now i finally got good ratios as original recipe is too dry. here is my way that everybody asks for...increase sour cream to 2 c., 2 cans of diced grn chilies, 1 large can of corn & 2 cans of drained/rinsed black beans. also needed a few good dashes of emeril's seasoning to bring it from bland to WOW! awesome potluck or group dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Quite a few reviewers made some comments about it was a little bland, so I spiced it up a bit. I used my own chicken stock when I cooked the rice, as canned chicken broth can be a bit salty. I used a can of Mexi-Corn, a small can of petite diced tomatoes and I used a batch of the Taco Seasoning 1 from this site. (I cut back on the salt and chili powder to protect little mouths.) I whipped the taco seasoning in with the sour cream and a little worchestershire sauce, then added it in with the other ingredients. This turned out really well. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I was looking for a new side to tacos, and this was wonderful. My kids took one bite and said it tasted like chicken enchiladas... So now we make it as a main dish, only I stir in chopped cooked chicken, some cumin and a can of black beans. We LOVE it! Thanks for a great recipe that is truly different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Never made before, and it was fabulous!!There were not any left overs. As recommended by another reviewer, I added 1 can of drained black beans, used 2 cups of sour cream, and 2 cans of the chiles. I also added a dash of cumin, corriander, and crushed red peper. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I served this with foil-pack taco chicken dinner, on the site too- see my comments. I read all of the users comments and I ran from there. I use fideo (instead of rice), garlic chicken broth, rotel, green chiles, nacho cheese soup, sour cream, and Mexican cheese blend. Really creamy and makes you nose run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
This turned out ok. It had an interesting flavor, but my husband and I had hoped it would be creamier. Next time I may add more sour cream or some salsa to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Pretty darn good! (Tip - do NOT use Mozzarella cheese!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
This was absolutely delicious...the only thing I did differently was to use instant rice, it was fantastic...this recipe is going to be a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Easy to make, tastes great. I added extra sour cream and cheese and topped with black olives. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Excellent! Followed recipe to a T. Served with "Gerry's Enchilidas" from this site. OMG this combo was the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States