Mexican Sour Cream Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Yes please! Easy to assemble. Never any leftovers. 5 stars! Make sure you don't skimp on the sour cream though, as it can dry out a bit as others mentioned. Thinking about adding some jalapeños next time to spice it up, but it's great without too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennafir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Custom version - rice, sour cream, mexi-blend fine shredded cheese (or regular cheddar), sliced jalapenos (from jar) + juice. Make some rice ( a few cups will do). Blend in small amount of jalapeno juice + sour cream until moist. Mix in chopped jalapenos to taste. Mix in cheese to taste. layer in glass baking tray mixture - layer of cheese - mixture - layer of cheese, top with cheese. Bake at 375 until brown on top. I am vague on the amounts because it really doesn't matter. This is an easy "eyeball" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was just ok. I didn't find it to be very flavorful. In fact I couldn't even get it down with out a ton of salt and pepper. I wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
What a simple, but delicious rice dish. While making it I was so tempted to add other things like garlic, onions, maybe some herbs or spices. But it is my first time making a recipe so I try to stay true to the directions and I did. What came out was this delicious side dish. I served it with some grilled Mexican rubbed pork steaks. This is a keeper and will be fixed again. Thank you Ms. Baker for posting this nice rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Everyone loved this dish, served it with grilled chicken that had been bathing in a fajita marinade and a salad. Used full fat sour cream and next time will add more cheese to the rice mixture. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Good, but def needs more seasonings. I started with Mexican Rice II from this site to get all theat great mexi flavor in there, then added the sour cream, chiles, corn and cilantro. It needed more than 1 c sour cream and about double the cheese. I served it with chile verde, so 1 can of green chiles was enuf, but if I was serving with a different mexican maindish, I'd double the chiles too. You could easily add diced chicken, cream of chicken soup and some black beans for a 1-dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was delicious! I doubled the sour cream and chiles and added a dash of cumin. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was ok...a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This makes a GREAT side to your Mexican meal! I left out the cilantro b/c I don't like it, and left out the corn. It was still wonderful! The second time I mad it I didn't have green chiles, so I used 1/2 cup of salsa. It was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States