Mexican Sour Cream Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I used brown rice, added enough liquid for it and did not use the veggies (just used cilantro) and I also used Cheddar cheese, as I wanted my kids to eat it and they did! They are a 'not mixed in' crowd when it comes to veggies. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Yes please! Easy to assemble. Never any leftovers. 5 stars! Make sure you don't skimp on the sour cream though, as it can dry out a bit as others mentioned. Thinking about adding some jalapeños next time to spice it up, but it's great without too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennafir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Custom version - rice, sour cream, mexi-blend fine shredded cheese (or regular cheddar), sliced jalapenos (from jar) + juice. Make some rice ( a few cups will do). Blend in small amount of jalapeno juice + sour cream until moist. Mix in chopped jalapenos to taste. Mix in cheese to taste. layer in glass baking tray mixture - layer of cheese - mixture - layer of cheese, top with cheese. Bake at 375 until brown on top. I am vague on the amounts because it really doesn't matter. This is an easy "eyeball" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was just ok. I didn't find it to be very flavorful. In fact I couldn't even get it down with out a ton of salt and pepper. I wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
What a simple, but delicious rice dish. While making it I was so tempted to add other things like garlic, onions, maybe some herbs or spices. But it is my first time making a recipe so I try to stay true to the directions and I did. What came out was this delicious side dish. I served it with some grilled Mexican rubbed pork steaks. This is a keeper and will be fixed again. Thank you Ms. Baker for posting this nice rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Everyone loved this dish, served it with grilled chicken that had been bathing in a fajita marinade and a salad. Used full fat sour cream and next time will add more cheese to the rice mixture. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Good, but def needs more seasonings. I started with Mexican Rice II from this site to get all theat great mexi flavor in there, then added the sour cream, chiles, corn and cilantro. It needed more than 1 c sour cream and about double the cheese. I served it with chile verde, so 1 can of green chiles was enuf, but if I was serving with a different mexican maindish, I'd double the chiles too. You could easily add diced chicken, cream of chicken soup and some black beans for a 1-dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was delicious! I doubled the sour cream and chiles and added a dash of cumin. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was ok...a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States