Mexican Sour Cream Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I have made this twice. Being single I like one dish meals so the first one I was having checkin breast with it so I browned the checken and cut it in bite size and mixed with the rice. The 2nd time I was having fresh yellow tail tuna and sierd the fish then placed 1/2 of the rice in a pan then placed the fish and covered with the rest. Both were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly. It was a big hit with half the family. The second time I made it, but left out the sour cream and served it separately so they could put as much or as little of the sour cream as they wanted. It worked out better that way for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
For a more health conscious version I used brown rice, reduced sodium chicken broth, and plain nonfat Greek yogurt. It was EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Yum!! A tip for recipes that call for chicken broth - keep packets of Goya chicken bouillon powder on hand to use in place of that plain ole broth in a can. One of those little powder packets makes 2 cups of flavorful broth - and you can kick up/reduce the flavor as you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I found this a little bland. Next time I will add more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Waaaaay too much sour cream. If I make this again, I'll cut it down to 3/4 or 1/2 cup. The other flavors were great though, the sour cream just overpowered them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe said. It was fantastic!!! Made if for friends and they couldn't wait to get the recipe! I must admit, it was excellent! You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I think I judged this too quickly. It is putzy to make with the stovetop cooking and then the oven, but it is pretty good. I actually liked the leftovers better after the rice soaked up the flavors. I had half a jar of salsa leftover so I tossed that in too, similar to other reviewers. My usual method of making Mexican rice involves cooking rice in a rice cooker and then stirring in salsa and cheese while the rice is hot. Not sure this is worth the extra effort but it was fun to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Great rice dish! My daughter's favorite!! She's at that age where I can do nothing right anyway but this rice makes me a heroine. I might throw in some other ingredients from time to time if I don't have everything. I've used cheddar and gouda and pepper jack, too. I swear to god, I could lace this with strychnine and it would still be the favorite at every meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Absolutely delish!!!! I too added an extra can of green chili's as I love it hot! Thanks for the recipe!!! Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States