Mexican Sour Cream Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I made this for a crowd. It doubles easily and it got rave reviews. I used the fiesta corn by Del Monte.I also added garlic powder. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by isaiah54mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Okmulgee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Terrific side dish to mexican dishes. This went perfectly with our burritos. Unfortunately, I was out of cilantro when I made this, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Very good. :-) Left out the chile peppers since I don't like them, but sprinkled in some cayenne to give it a kick back. And I used 1/3 the amount of dry cilantro. (Unlike most people, I usually prefer dry spices.) I didn't think it was dry, but I also didn't cook it 30 minutes - maybe more like 20 until it was heated through. It does, however, have a slight bit of "crispness" to it. I originally made this a long time ago and wrote a 4 on it, but couldn't remember it very well. So I re-made it recently and decided it was a 5. I remember that this was something I didn't think too much of the first couple of bites and then it kind of grew on me. Or as someone else said, how can you go wrong with sour cream? :-) (Actually, you can, but not usually.) Sitting here staring at the recipes, I'm thinking I should make it again tomorrow while I've got sour cream on hand... (it's making me hungry)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Good but just a little dry. I'll add more sour cream next time. I also added some black beans to mine and used brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is a great recipe. I did use 2 c. sour cream, added black beans and doubled the green chiles. I also added cumin, chili powder and other herbs to boost it up. Next time I will use pepper jack and add roasted red peppers. Chicken would be fabulous too in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Added: taco seasoning, some garlic, extra sour cream (regular not reduced fat), salsa, finely chopped onion (small amount), bacon bits & chopped chicken to mix. Covered it with extra colby/monterey jack cheese. I don't think it was bland after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Family loved this -I thoght it was good. I added a few spices -cumin, cayenne, chili powder, onion, garlic and chipotle. Doubled the sour cream as suggested by others. With these changes it had a nice warm kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rainess Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Really yummy! My variation: I didnt have enough sour cream, so substitued cottage cheese mixed with heavy cream. I also added cumin. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I feel bad giving it 4 stars b/c I changed so much, but eh. I used beef broth, added half a can each of corn, black beans, and tomatoes. I added a few teaspoons of diced jalapenos (the kind from the jar) and I used one cup of sour cream and half a bar of cream cheese. Here's what I'll do next time: I'll cut the cream cheese in half and add a bit more sour cream. I'll add more jalapenos and perhaps some cayenne. I had served this with some chicken that I pan cooked and then slathered with hot salsa. Next time I'll cut up the chicken and mix it directly in the rice, as they worked so well together. I think perhaps the dish was missing spice which is why I gave it a 4 stars. Yummy dish, easy to make substitutions..will keep it in rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I made this as a side dish last night to go with "tasty lentil tacos" from this site. I followed the recipe as written with 2 minor changes. Instead of the corn..I am allergic..I added some peas and carrots. And instead of the monterey jack cheese, I used pepper jack..because that's what I had at home. I liked the flavor but my husband thought that the sour cream kinda took over. I will probably make this again with just about a half cup of sour cream..or maybe even plain yogurt. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States