Mexican Sour Cream Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
What a simple, but delicious rice dish. While making it I was so tempted to add other things like garlic, onions, maybe some herbs or spices. But it is my first time making a recipe so I try to stay true to the directions and I did. What came out was this delicious side dish. I served it with some grilled Mexican rubbed pork steaks. This is a keeper and will be fixed again. Thank you Ms. Baker for posting this nice rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Everyone loved this dish, served it with grilled chicken that had been bathing in a fajita marinade and a salad. Used full fat sour cream and next time will add more cheese to the rice mixture. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Good, but def needs more seasonings. I started with Mexican Rice II from this site to get all theat great mexi flavor in there, then added the sour cream, chiles, corn and cilantro. It needed more than 1 c sour cream and about double the cheese. I served it with chile verde, so 1 can of green chiles was enuf, but if I was serving with a different mexican maindish, I'd double the chiles too. You could easily add diced chicken, cream of chicken soup and some black beans for a 1-dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was delicious! I doubled the sour cream and chiles and added a dash of cumin. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was ok...a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This makes a GREAT side to your Mexican meal! I left out the cilantro b/c I don't like it, and left out the corn. It was still wonderful! The second time I mad it I didn't have green chiles, so I used 1/2 cup of salsa. It was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I made this for a crowd. It doubles easily and it got rave reviews. I used the fiesta corn by Del Monte.I also added garlic powder. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by isaiah54mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Okmulgee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Terrific side dish to mexican dishes. This went perfectly with our burritos. Unfortunately, I was out of cilantro when I made this, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Very good. :-) Left out the chile peppers since I don't like them, but sprinkled in some cayenne to give it a kick back. And I used 1/3 the amount of dry cilantro. (Unlike most people, I usually prefer dry spices.) I didn't think it was dry, but I also didn't cook it 30 minutes - maybe more like 20 until it was heated through. It does, however, have a slight bit of "crispness" to it. I originally made this a long time ago and wrote a 4 on it, but couldn't remember it very well. So I re-made it recently and decided it was a 5. I remember that this was something I didn't think too much of the first couple of bites and then it kind of grew on me. Or as someone else said, how can you go wrong with sour cream? :-) (Actually, you can, but not usually.) Sitting here staring at the recipes, I'm thinking I should make it again tomorrow while I've got sour cream on hand... (it's making me hungry)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States